We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable - good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Antoine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Villa Antoine
Save Saved
You added La Villa Antoine to your Saves list
2451 West 37th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 1P4 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable - good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hello,
A comfortable, well located B & B. Could be great with a few additions. The upstairs rooms lacked a comfortable sitting chair and good reading lights. You really only have the bed to sit on. The upstairs balcony would be great with the addition of a few chairs to enjoy the fresh air. The Cedar Room was quite small and did not have Kleenex offered and the internet connection would fade out frequently. The room was not vacummed despite a stay of over five nights.

The Cherry Blossom room is very pleasant and has an extensive closet and bathroom area and great internet reception. Linens and towels are very nice in both rooms.

The hostess Ann Marie is engaging and assisted with bus routes. Breakfasts are simple and composed of fresh fruit, great yogurt, cereal, toast and maybe one hot item. You will not be offered meat, breakfast potatoes, omlets etc.

La Villa Antoine is not an over the top B & B -- but provides a comfortable night's rest.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villaantoine, Owner at La Villa Antoine, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
1. La Villa Antoine B & B strives to provide a comfortable and enjoyable accommodation for its guests.
2. The Cherry Blossom and Cedar rooms each have a desk and chair in the room. Should this not suit, a shared seating area with a comfy chair, reading lamp, table with chairs and a fridge is conveniently located right outside both rooms. On the main floor we also have a large living room that is for use by the guests.
3. Had the guest mentioned the problem with the Internet reception in the Cedar room we would have happily addressed it. As of now, according to other guests it is not a problem.
4. The private balcony in the Cherry Blossom room has chairs and a table on the deck. The chairs are often folded up in case of rain.
5. La Villa Antoine offers a hot item dish daily.
6. All rooms are tidied daily and for longer stays a thorough cleaning is usually done after five days. During the month of March 2011 (as referred to by the writer of this critic), the longest stay in the Cedar room was actually four nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Anne-Marie has a wonderful B&B. Beautiful house, well kept, clean and comfortable. I tried reserving the same rooms for a few months later, but they were already reserved. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Anne-Marie is very good at responding to emails
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Throughout the years we have stayed at some of the top B+B's in Vancouver(Stanley Park etc.)-but this was just perfect for us. Think slightly upscale Craftsman home in the most delightful and safe neighborhoods. These all-renovated rooms are fresh and tastefully done. Love the stained glass in the main part of the house, love the privacy between the rooms. Love the expensive COMFORTABLE beds, Love Anne-Marie. We live in a nice place in Santa Barbara, so when we travel we want to stay in an Authentic, tasteful, and quiet place. This was it. Since there are only a few rooms, breakfast with Anne Marie(she herself cooks up fun and tasty goods)-is refined, fun, and not overdone. Have a cheerful lttle chat, and then just go lay around the lovely bedroom before adventuring for the day. We stayed in the Cherry Blossom room, -the bathroom was upscale, nicely done, and brightly clean. What a winner- and at very reasonable prices. This place is mostly all new renovated now....the pride of the owner shows...the balance here is perfect. Perhaps not the place people who like to be doted-over or want long talks-- would like. It's balanced- lovely and true to its craftsman neighborhood. You'll like Anne-Marie,- she is sweet and bright, but also has nice little things to say- and simple...does all the work herself, and that is why everything is so impeccably fresh and clean.
Ps-DO NOT miss Restaurant Ouisi down on Grandville street just a mile away to drive, -its the Jambalaya truely that was the best we have had in our overly-long lifetimes...we even went back the next night for more.
Breathtaking...and the Jerk Chicken too! We spoke to the owner...we first went there 13 years ago....he is consistant...but that is another story. Good luck.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

Excellent value in a lovely neighborhood close to shops, restaurants, and major streets. On arrival, the premises were scrupulously clean. Added benefit: proprietor has an outstanding collection of modern literature in English and French (I couldn’t read the French, but it looked outstanding – many familiar authors and titles). English majors, take note
We stayed in the Cherry Blossom room, which was far from being just a room: we had a balcony with a table and chairs, a walk-in closet bigger than some hotel rooms, a TV, and a spacious, windowed bath that featured European-style fixtures and a Jacuzzi tub. Also available for our use were an upstairs sitting room with a fridge and tea-making facilities, and an additional room (a library, really) with all those books, as well as a Windows computer hooked up to the internet. Breakfasts were extensive: juice, fruit, cereal, yogurt, and a hot dish every day: pancakes, crepes, scrambled eggs, French toast; and unlimited coffee. We rented a car, and were delighted with the ample, free parking right in front of the house.
Quibbles, and these are very minor and subjective: given all this elegance and savoir-faire, I would have expected higher-level toiletries. It’s nice to know that “Pert” in French is “Pret,” but this bargain-basement shampoo-conditioner blend turned my hair greasy; similar issues with the paper-wrapped soaplets and the Costco-sized hand lotion. Towels will be changed (if you ask), but we were there for five nights, and our rooms were not swept or cleaned during that time. This didn’t bother me particularly, but others might object. Our hostess was comme il’ fait, correct in every detail, but those who are looking for effusive warmth and a plethora of suggestions may be disappointed.
Overall, this was a good experience and, again, an outstanding value. This was our fourth trip to Vancouver, and our first at a B&B. Given hotel prices, traffic, parking hassles, and the high cost of restaurant meals, we would certainly choose to stay at a B&B again, and I would recommend La Villa Antoine to self-sufficient travelers who do not require a great deal of personal attention and four-star luxury.

  • Liked — Value, size of accomodations, location, good breakfasts
  • Disliked — Surprisingly poor quality toiletries
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

My husband and I just returned from Vancouver and spent 4 nights at this B&B. Marie (the owner) has a beautiful home with delicious breakfasts. The home is in the Kerrisdale section (41st street) of Vancouver, with easy bus access to downtown and the rest of the city. Large hedges provide quiet and privacy. 2 rooms downstairs with a shared bath, and two upstairs with private baths. Marie strives for the little details, outfitting each suite with extra amenities (body lotions/sprays, facial wash, etc) and there is tea available 24 hrs/day. Breakfasts were super filling, with fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, juice, tea/coffee, and a hot selection. (pancakes, french toast, eggs, toast) Marie and her staff went out of their way to accommodate my husband's early morning coffee, by leaving it prepped for him to start to brew himself! Beautiful bay windows and all the comforts of home!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfalz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We stayed in this B&B for 5 and another 2 nights.
Our room (the chestnut room) and its bathroom were obviously just renovated. It was really spacious, clean and was decorated nicely.
The hosts were in charge just for a limited time period since the owner was away for vacation. These two Australians were really friendly and gave us a lot of good hints. And they made great breakfast!!!
The B&B itself is located in a nice and quiet neighborhood, has a beautiful garden and is just 5 min. away from the next bus stop from which you can reach downtown in 15 min. The next stores and restaurants are pretty close too.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location, decor, hosts, breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

We stayed at the La Villa Anotine for one night in August. We were waiting on another reservation and were so glad this was only for one night. The house is very old and has a terrible musty odor. The beds are not comfortable. The bath was down the hall with very loud pipes. We felt as if the owner was running a rent a room business to have people in and out with no personal interest. We would not recommned anyone stay here unless there are no other rooms to be found. We are well seasoned
B & B travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villaantoine, owner at La Villa Antoine, responded to this review, April 23, 2010
Please note that all the bathrooms and bedrooms have been renovated and all the beds have been replaced. Guests' comments are that the new beds are comfortable and nobody else has complained about musty odors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Antoine

Address: 2451 West 37th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 1P4 , Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Antoine Vancouver Bed and Breakfast is located in a quiet residential neighborhood within walking distance to the Kerrisdale shopping area (restaurants, shops, banks, drugstores etc.). We are located 6 km south of downtown Vancouver and 6 km north of Vancouver International Airport.La Villa Antoine Bed and Breakfast is within easy access to the major tourist attractions of the city. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Antoine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.