We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and outdated but fab location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cambie Hostel Gastown

Save Saved
You added Cambie Hostel Gastown to your Saves list
Cambie Hostel Gastown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambie Hostel Gastown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   300 Cambie St @ Cordova St | Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2N3, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Exeter
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Over priced and outdated but fab location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked here as it was one of the cheapest hostels in Vancouver but saying that was still $35 a night each incl tax! For $35 I would expect a luxury hostel but it's actually a bit of a dive! The 4 bed room was clean but to small we couldn't move! There was one ladies bathroom for whole floor which had 2 showers with see throughish doors and one toilet as the other was broken and not fixed in the 4 nights I was there! The kitchen is so small and doesnt even have a kettle! Now the positives are the location is great, gastown is sooo cool and it's right by the metro system and you can go from airport to hostel on sky train for only $7.50 no hasstle. The hostel also has a nice bar downstairs but you can't hear it in the room (not on 2nd floor anyway) also you get a lovely free muffin and drink every morning from the cutesy cafe next door. So all in all do stay here as it's so expensive to stay anywhere else but be aware it's not the nicest hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    11
    8
    15
See reviews for
1
12
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zell am See, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I spent 5 nights in this hostel and I have to say that it is in a great spot directly in downtown. Underneath the hostel accommodations is a big bar which is really cool and cheap to go to, but if you want to catch some sleep upstairs, it is really difficult because of all the noise.

There is a really small kitchen for more than 20 people; one stove with one working stovetop, much to few dishes and a fridge with much too little space for everyone's food.
There are three showers in the men's room, but only one was working properly.

If you want to stay right in downtown for a night or two I would recommend it if your standards are not too high. But if you want to stay for a longer period, I would probably recommend another hostel.

Take some earplugs with you, you will most likely need them!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Great experience with this hostel. On arrival, there was an issue with my booking, but they resolved it immediately, and I was upgraded from the 8-bed mixed dorm to a 4-bed female room at no extra cost. Security was great, with swipecard access to guest only areas, and plenty of locker space in the rooms. Enjoyed some good beers, a decent burger, and excellent company downstairs in the pub, and noise fom the bar was negligable in my room on the 2nd floor. Beds were comfortable, if a bit wobbly. Location is great, right in the middle of Gastown, lots of good (& cheap) eateries close by, a 5 min walk to Waterfront Station (Transport hub), close to Downtown, and an easy, picturesque walk to Stanley Park. Full marks to the staff, who were cheerful, helpful, and a pleasure to talk to. Will stay again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hostel has bed bugs. It's a gross hostel. Pay more and stay somewhere that takes care of problems like this. If you stay here, make sure you leave your bags outside (as there are no bathtubs to put your bags in) and check the mattresses in your room. If you see bed bug evidence, go somewhere else. I have bed bugs in my luggage and have now imported them to my girlfriend's apartment. Great.

When I called to let the manager know, he dismissed it as though bed bugs were just part and parcel to having a hosteling experience. In Canada!? Terrible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Ive stayed in many hostels around the world but this is the worst one I have ever stepped foot in. Fortunately the staff were friendly and gave us a refund so we didnt have to stay!!
We booked a 4 bed dorm, if the beds had been any closer together they might as well have put beds in there. The conditions of the beds/lockers were poor and the light in the room didnt work, window didnt shut. There was one bathroom on the floor with one working shower to share and 2 toilets.
The bar downstairs looked good and the staff were friendly but the area it was in was the worst part of Vancouver and not central Gastown (which is a pretty area)
Go and stay somewhere else dont even contemplate the Cambie as you will be disapointed

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krommenie
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

What do you want? Close to the citycentre and gastown? Good bar and eating possibilities insite? A cheap stay? Nice and young staff? A free muffin breakfast? Don't want to sleep? Don't use the showers and toilets? Then yes, the cambie is a very good place.

Buttttt. If you want a quite and clean place, no way, then it's a very bad choice... Always noisy, strange people, very old showers and toilets, it smells, the bed sleeps horrible, it's over and out, this place needs a very big make over.... Wifi is available but very slow.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

This place is possibly the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The place is unclean, unsanitary and it smells. The rooms all need updating; wobbly beds, mattresses that look like they havent been changed for years etc.

The hostel is in a dodgy area too, right in the middle of drug addict central. The area is full of crackheads, so dont be surprised if you see drug deals going on right outside. If you have a car, don't park it near here, it'll get broken into.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambie Hostel Gastown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambie Hostel Gastown

Address: 300 Cambie St @ Cordova St | Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Specialty lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambie Hostel Gastown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cambie Hostel Gastown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambie Hostel Gastown Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambie Hostel Gastown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.