We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one or two days, but not longer!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cambie Hostel Gastown

Cambie Hostel Gastown
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cambie Hostel Gastown to your Saves list
Cambie Hostel Gastown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   300 Cambie St @ Cordova St | Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2N3, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Zell am See, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for one or two days, but not longer!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I spent 5 nights in this hostel and I have to say that it is in a great spot directly in downtown. Underneath the hostel accommodations is a big bar which is really cool and cheap to go to, but if you want to catch some sleep upstairs, it is really difficult because of all the noise.

There is a really small kitchen for more than 20 people; one stove with one working stovetop, much to few dishes and a fridge with much too little space for everyone's food.
There are three showers in the men's room, but only one was working properly.

If you want to stay right in downtown for a night or two I would recommend it if your standards are not too high. But if you want to stay for a longer period, I would probably recommend another hostel.

Take some earplugs with you, you will most likely need them!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    19
    15
    19
See reviews for
1
19
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Great experience with this hostel. On arrival, there was an issue with my booking, but they resolved it immediately, and I was upgraded from the 8-bed mixed dorm to a 4-bed female room at no extra cost. Security was great, with swipecard access to guest only areas, and plenty of locker space in the rooms. Enjoyed some good beers, a decent burger, and excellent company downstairs in the pub, and noise fom the bar was negligable in my room on the 2nd floor. Beds were comfortable, if a bit wobbly. Location is great, right in the middle of Gastown, lots of good (& cheap) eateries close by, a 5 min walk to Waterfront Station (Transport hub), close to Downtown, and an easy, picturesque walk to Stanley Park. Full marks to the staff, who were cheerful, helpful, and a pleasure to talk to. Will stay again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hostel has bed bugs. It's a gross hostel. Pay more and stay somewhere that takes care of problems like this. If you stay here, make sure you leave your bags outside (as there are no bathtubs to put your bags in) and check the mattresses in your room. If you see bed bug evidence, go somewhere else. I have bed bugs in my luggage and have now imported them to my girlfriend's apartment. Great.

When I called to let the manager know, he dismissed it as though bed bugs were just part and parcel to having a hosteling experience. In Canada!? Terrible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Ive stayed in many hostels around the world but this is the worst one I have ever stepped foot in. Fortunately the staff were friendly and gave us a refund so we didnt have to stay!!
We booked a 4 bed dorm, if the beds had been any closer together they might as well have put beds in there. The conditions of the beds/lockers were poor and the light in the room didnt work, window didnt shut. There was one bathroom on the floor with one working shower to share and 2 toilets.
The bar downstairs looked good and the staff were friendly but the area it was in was the worst part of Vancouver and not central Gastown (which is a pretty area)
Go and stay somewhere else dont even contemplate the Cambie as you will be disapointed

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krommenie
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

What do you want? Close to the citycentre and gastown? Good bar and eating possibilities insite? A cheap stay? Nice and young staff? A free muffin breakfast? Don't want to sleep? Don't use the showers and toilets? Then yes, the cambie is a very good place.

Buttttt. If you want a quite and clean place, no way, then it's a very bad choice... Always noisy, strange people, very old showers and toilets, it smells, the bed sleeps horrible, it's over and out, this place needs a very big make over.... Wifi is available but very slow.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

This place is possibly the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The place is unclean, unsanitary and it smells. The rooms all need updating; wobbly beds, mattresses that look like they havent been changed for years etc.

The hostel is in a dodgy area too, right in the middle of drug addict central. The area is full of crackheads, so dont be surprised if you see drug deals going on right outside. If you have a car, don't park it near here, it'll get broken into.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I recently stayed here with a couple of friends. The price is reasonable but the rooms are dingy and not even worth the meager price we paid.
While staying here we went to the hostels well know pub. We could hear the doorman being extremely rude to several people and even once heard him yelling and pushing a group of girls who were politely trying to ask him a question.

Would not recommend this place to anybody. There are much nicer hostels in Vancouver. Not to mention it is located in a super sketchy dangerous area.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Budget Inn Patricia Hotel
#70 of 96 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#11 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
Downtown
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#5 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Downtown
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
#5 of 39 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambie Hostel Gastown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambie Hostel Gastown

Address: 300 Cambie St @ Cordova St | Gastown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2N3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambie Hostel Gastown 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cambie Hostel Gastown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambie Hostel Gastown Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambie Hostel Gastown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.