We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay at this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Save Saved
You added La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Burrard St | at the Sutton Place Hotel, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We loved our stay at this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a traditional old style smart hotel. The service is fantastic, nothing was a bother and all recommendations were spot on.Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom was very well appointed. We had a fabulous view of the city which was an added bonus and one we had not requested.
The location is great for exploring Vancouver.
This is a pet friendly hotel. Naturally we didn't have pets with us as we were traveling from New Zealand , however we found this aspect quite charming.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    50
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
66
51
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have stayed at this full-service hotel several times and, because we have two small children, we stay in the two bedroom suites in La Grande Residence.
For this location, the suites at this hotel are very spacious (two bedrooms and two bathrooms, plus a kitchen). The bathrooms could use some updating, but aren't terrible.
Location: The location of this hotel is tops. You have immediate pedestrian access to all that Robson Street has to offer. They also provide guests with a shoppers card that provides discounts at various stores on Robson.
Dining: Room service food (from Fleuri) is very good. We've mostly ordered breakfast and found the portions huge (you could almost share a meal). The Gerard Lounge is also very good (although not suitable for children). There's even a Japa Dog just beyond the front entrance.
Parking: Ouch! It's very pricey.
Spa: Good
Service: I saved the best for last. It is Exceptional. Every staff member we encounter on each of our stays provides outstanding service. We are big on service, and it's what keeps us returning to this hotel.
If you plan to stay more than once, I'd recommend enrolling in the Prestige Program. It has earned us spa treatments and once, a complimentary night's accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I would struggle to find anything negative to say about this hotel. We stayed for three nights in a suite which was very clean, spacious, comfortable and had everything we needed. The location is very good to get to the various places of interest. The staff were friendly and helpful. We felt this provided very good city centre accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed again at La Grande Residence, fourth time in total at Sutton Place. Still love it. The staff is so accommodating and courteous. Miguel and Jennifer at the Concierge took very good care of us. This time we stayed with our two small kids and were very happy to have all the facilities in the kitchen for the baby. Used the swimming pool as well, which was nice since we stayed for seven nights and it rained a lot. Housekeeping service was daily and very accommodating. They provided us with a high chair for the baby as well as a crib. Whenever we needed something they brought immediately. We used the self service laundry, which was great as well as dry cleaning which was extremely fast and still affordable. We are big fans of the Sutton and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The room set up was good, big room, clean, comfortable, good gym and pool.
Not impressed with:
- Internet was an extra $15 per day!
- No complimentary breakfast
- local calls were charged to room

Would prefer to stay at Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

I'm in Vancouver on business a lot and usually book through Hotwire. This place is usually the condo with 4.5 stars.

I like the condo set up as I like to have simple meals I prepare. This place is ideally suited. A trendy supermarket (IGA) is right next door.

Parking and Restuarant are expensive but lots of great places to eat near by.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The service was great from all staff - didn't matter we were in the 'residence' part & not the 'hotel'.
Room 356 is a corner room on Burrard & Smithe; not what we asked for but we only heard sirens during the day...there is hospital 3 blocks away. The room is fairly standard, nothing fancy about it. could use a new paint job, but overall for the $$ it was fine.
The pool was nice, but chilly! it also is 1.2 to 1.3 meters...no shallow end for little kids; but they did have a few pool noodles etc that our 3.5 year old took advantage of.
I can not comment on room service or restaurants as we never ate there.
THe "Marketplace IGA" is across the road & perfect to grab breakfast items & snacks to have on hand.
I highly recommend the "Pacifico Pizzaria" at 970 Smithe St - not even a block SE of the hotel. Great food & kid friendly too! Best thin crust pizza around!
Our concierge recommended "Joey's on Burrard" as being a family friendly place...but it was too pricey for us with a 3 year old & the only thing our daughter would eat was sliders off the appy menu as there is no kids menu.
The curtains are very heavy & keep out a lot of light - excellent when you have kids!
Overall we will stay here again.

Room Tip: May want to get one off of Burrard St
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard St | at the Sutton Place Hotel, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Venere so you can book your La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.