We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Coast Suites at UBC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West Coast Suites at UBC to your Saves list
West Coast Suites at UBC
5961 Student Union Boulevard, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book online for best rate
Ranked #74 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We like the university setting. It is outside of the downtown and so less frantic. Clean and convenient, with a kitchen, we have meals there with our local groceries. The bed is comfortable and the sitting room a nice convenience for us as a couple. The amenities are nice but not luxurious, with a small, efficient bathroom with shower. A good buy for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    5
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
5
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you are visiting your kid at UBC, or visiting UBC on business, this is really the best place to stay because it is right on campus and quite comfortable. I have stayed 3 times and plan to return every time I am at UBC. If you are expecting to stay in downtown Vancouver, think again: this is outside of downtown although there is parking, and excellent bus service to the city is nearby (20-30 minutes). Units are one bedroom suites with a comfortable king bed, and there is a pull-out couch in the living room, so it can fit a family. There is a small TV in the living room; there is none in the bedroom. The bathroom is small but perfectly adequate, and the same goes of the kitchen, which has a full stove, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, sink, and dishes. Don't expect room service, a pool and sauna, or any of those hotel amenities, although there is daily maid service. There does not appear to be AC, but Vancouver does not usually get very hot in the summer and there is a fan. There is parking for a reasonable fee, and the room is reasonably priced. In October 2013 we paid $135 a night, plus $15 a night for parking, plus taxes.

Room Tip: TIP: If college is in session, the students can get rowdy on weekends well into the wee hours. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you have business at UBC. The kitchens are well-equipped, the space is ample with leather chair and couch, great light, windows that open and west coast air. The small apartment is well appointed with the usual 'good hotel' amenities: iron/board, high quality coffee, nice bathrooms and king bed. Given the lack of good food options on campus, this option is even better because of kitchen for longer stays, though one would need to get her/his own groceries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here because we had a wedding at Brock House nearby. It is located in the Walter Gage Student tower area and the room are suites that have been refurbished. They target people who are coming to UBC for conferences. My wife went to UBC so it brought back many good memories being back on the campus. It is next door to the bus loop so if you don't have a car transport downtown is right there. The rate was $191.00 including parking and all taxes so very reasonable compared to downtown rates and only 15 minutes away.
The new double pane windows combined with a large ceiling fan and living room fan make up for the lack of air conditioning. The room ending in even numbers all face the courtyard so make sure you ask for them as very quiet. We had a large shower stall which was fine. The full kitchen was well appointed. There is a small store and ATM machine located in the building next door which is also where you check in at the student services desk. Parking is only $9.00 and you have reserved spots for the building. White Spot and Starbucks about a block away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in an even number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed at West Coast Suites because we needed a two-bedroom option. She stayed in the bedroom and I on the sofa bed in the living room. For university accommodation, the apartment was well furnished and nicely decorated. Hair dryer, iron and even an chess set was provided. The toiletries in the bathroom were of good quality. We stayed for 3 days and really enjoyed the benefits of an apartment, fully equipped. Breakfast was included -- it was cafeteria style but we really enjoyed the food, which was plentiful. We paid extra for parking, which wasn't great, but at $9 per day, who can complain. Service was unobtrusive. We thought it a good deal. The campus provides lovely walks, museums and some modest but good restaurants. We took my step-daughter to school and were happy to stay on campus.

Room Tip: The location of West Coast Suites is quite private, but probably better to stay in rooms on the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for one night at the West Coast Suites on the UBC campus while visiting our son & wish we'd booked for longer. Clean, comfortable, easy to find, helpful check in. My husband & I found the king sized bed incredibly comfy & our teenage daughter (who likes her sleep) found the pull out couch one of the best beds she'd slept on in our 10 day trip! I had read in other reviews that these apartments were too hot - however, the large ceiling fan in the bedroom & the other table fans that were in the closets were more than enough to keep us cool in late July. We didn't try the breakfast which was included in the room rate, but there was Starbucks coffee in the kitchenette and a fantastic coffee shop - The Great Dane - just around the corner. If all 3 of us were visiting for longer, I might consider trying to book a 2 bedroom apartment, to give our daughter a bit more privacy - but all in all, a great find & very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Corey at the front desk was super helpful printing our boarding passes at this late hour (ten thirty!) while handling other issues, all with a cheerful demeanor! Thank you.

The bed was comfy, the shower was great, the kitchen was convenient and useful, breakfast in the morning at the Spirit Dining Hall was pretty good (though they should truly cook the bacon so it is crisp, for future reference!), and the location was ideal to visit family nearby without having to deal with crazy traffic of downtown.

The room IS hot, so the fan and ceiling fan were perfect and we opened a window at night to let in cool breezes. There is NO AC anywhere, so it's important to keep that in mind and dress accordingly during warmer weather here. FANS are a must.

Room Tip: Super warm during the day in the summer time so be sure to request a room shaded by trees if at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Coast Suites at UBC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Suites at UBC

Address: 5961 Student Union Boulevard, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful west side of Vancouver on the spectacular UBC campus, our 47 one-bedroom suites are complemented by the natural setting, attractions and recreational facilities. Shops and restaurants are located within walking distance of the West Coast Suites. We offer onsite parking and laundry facilities. Ideal for business travellers and extended stay visitors, each well-appointed suite (450 sq ft/ 41.8 sq m) features fully-equipped kitchen, flat panel TV, in-room safe, complimentary wireless Internet, balcony, luxury linens and Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Starbucks coffee, king size bed in bedroom and double sofa-bed in living room. Onsite laundry facilities and parking for a norminal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your West Coast Suites at UBC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Suites At Ubc Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Coast Suites at UBC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.