We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bed & breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corkscrew Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corkscrew Inn
Save
You added Corkscrew Inn to your Saves list
2735 West 2nd Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6K 1K2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 62 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Glenburnie, On.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing bed & breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This bed & breakfast was by far the best we have tried in Vancouver. The breakfast was delicious, every morning there was a different dish, and Karen, the innkeeper, was very friendly and always ready to inform us on places to go, how to get there, etc. The bedroom was beautiful(ours was called British India), the bed very comfortable, and the place was very clean. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We only tried the room called British India, and it was very quiet and beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    18
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
147
22
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great little inn in a special part of Vancouver. Intimate, warm, and a fabulous location in prime residential area near the waters edge at Kitsilano. I know the neighbourhood well,and recommend this spot for anyone who wants to experience the real Vancouver. It's really easy to get around to Spanish Banks, West 4th/8th shopping, Jericho Beach, Granville Island Market, Yaletown.....
Comfy bed, very clean,beautiful room, and delicious cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

On our way home after 6months away. We had requested the Edwardian Room. All rooms are extremely pleasant & very unique with classic stained glass treatments, period furniture & accessories. We were on the ground flr & for 3 of the 7 nites were the only occupants. Sitting in the living room before a fire, sipping the owners Sherry was a truly unique experience. All our breakfasts were generous, more than most healthy people could eat. Each morning we devoured our fresh fruit along with an assortment of delicious egg dishes, each complemented with vegetables or protein. Our favourite was the house smoked salmon. Spent our days walking the Kits & Granville Island areas. If only we could afford this housing market. The Owner is Wayne & his Inn Keeper is Karen; both cordially looked after all our lazy questions that were already answered in his in-suite info binder. All in all a delightful experience including sipping BC wines in the back patio with lush gardens & wild birds every afternoon. As our new grand daughter needs to see her grand parents periodically, we shall be making the Corkscrew our favorite lodging.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont Hot Springs, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Cockscrew Inn provides the quintessential B&B experience and we will certainly be back.

The hospitality and breakfast were both excellent and the bed was very comfortable. The neighbourhood is quiet and we had no problem getting a good nights sleep. Everything for a good Kits experience - seawall, 4th Ave, beaches and even Granville Island - are walking distance.

For those driving with larger vehicles (we have a full size SUV), the streets seem narrow and precarious but we were able to park within a block of the inn each and we left with the vehicle 3 or 4 times in our 2 night stay.

I would highly recommend the inn for anyone that is looking for a casual, comfortable and eclectic B & B experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the French room which faces to the back alley and was nice and quiet and has a nice lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corkscrewinn, Owner at Corkscrew Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your review!
While the streets in our historic neighbourhood were built for horse-drawn buggies, they are wide enough to accommodate any sized vehicle and there is usually ample parking. If you don't want to park on the street, there's a spot next to our garage on the north side of the Inn.
An exception to the "ample parking" rule is during the annual Fireworks Festival (three evenings in midsummer) and even then you'll be okay if you park by 6pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Scrumptious morning mini feasts were created for us with lovely attention to detail by talented and welcoming chef Karen. As a cook myself, I appreciate the creative presentation and perfect combinations offered. My favorite was the salmon, herb, cream cheese frittata. Next the savory mushroom omelet with Canadian turkey sausage and the attractive crunchy phyllo dough nests filled with egg and cheesy goodness accompanying bacon branches and perfect little pinwheel tomatoes. The entire building exists as delicious slice of life from gentler more refined times. My husband and I were delighted each morning with pleasant little details; our meal's accent sauces were artistically squiggled in corkscrew designs, the spring blooms in the garden graced our conversations on the front porch, stained glass window eye candy in every room, finer linen, the whimsical corkscrew collection museum, helpful tourist advice and the convenient Kitsilano location made The Corkscrew Inn an excellent choice for us.

Room Tip: The other rooms have more vibrant sunlight. Our British India Room faced the mountains in the rear o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corkscrewinn, Owner at Corkscrew Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We appreciate the careful attention to detail in your review! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night while visiting my son who lives in the Kitsilano area. The Corkscrew is on a quiet street conveniently located near Kitsilano, is close to 4th Avenue, and is not far from downtown. It is a unique place, with an interesting history. I found it a very comfortable place to be, with an excellent bed. I did not have the breakfast, so I cannot comment on its quality. But I really appreciated that a supply of yogurt, cookies, coffee, and tea was always available in the dining room area. Karen, the host, was very gracious and helpful, but not in any way intrusive. And because her suite is actually on its own floor below the two upper levels of the Bed & Breakfast, you do not feel you are intruding into her home. I felt fortunate to find this place. Staying here greatly enhanced the quality of my visit with my son.

Room Tip: For a solo traveller, I would recommend the Edwardian. It is on the main floor by itself, is close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for 1 night.

Perfect location, Lovely house, lovely rooms:)

A couple of things that gave us a bad taste about our stay.

First off, only 2 of the 5 rooms were occupied (one by us), the other with a single Lady.

Two days prior to our stay, we had two other couples that also wished to stay the same night as us, but were refused. They insisted on a three day minimum. Even the web page is clear 1 or 2 night stays are ok if there is availability, which there was. We were staying for 1 night, so it just didn't make sense. Bizarre!

Both my husband and I fell very ill that evening from bad food we had eaten at a local restaurant, so we did not make it for the am breakfast. At 10 am, as the hostess was puttering in the kitchen, I explained why we had missed, and was looking for a single piece of dry toast to settle our stomachs before the long drive home. Her reply was that everything was now put away, so NO. Really? is it asking for too much to pop a piece of the bread in the toaster for a guest under these circumstances?

Lastly, when my husband sat down to put on his shoes at the front door (you are not allowed any footwear in the house) he had put down a gift basket that was given to us that I had already opened, and forgot it there on the floor when he left. When we realized that and called to let them know we would be picking it up, they said that they had already eaten most of the goodies, and that only the wine was left. She said she believed it was a gift for them that we had brought. Really? -- opened with half the wrapper/ribbon stuffed inside, left on the floor where yo sit to put shoes on, gift tag not adressed to you? Maybe they thought my husband wouldn't bother getting it now. Well he did, just on principal.

Will never stay here or recommend it to anyone as I think the staff doesn't really have the passion or the heart of most good B & B proprietors.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitsilano, Owner at Corkscrew Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
There are many reasons why rooms may be empty and are not available for a one night stay: last-minute cancellations; scheduled maintenance which takes less time than planned; expectation, particularly over a weekend, of a longer stay. Unscheduled maintenance can require a lengthy period of vacancy.

Our General Manager reports that you referred to one co-worker who wanted to stay; she asked him to check back closer to the arrival date and he never called.

You had asked for breakfast at 8am and she held your breakfast quite late, but by the time you came out after 10, everything was cleaned up. She did show you the cereals, fruits and yogurts that are always available.

After you checked out, she found the gift basket contents scattered around your desk area and she assumed that you meant to leave them. She apologized for her mistake and replaced the one item she had used with extra items. When she spoke to your husband a of couple days later, he laughed and said it was no big deal.

So the negative comments in your review come as a surprise.

A vast number of our reviews comment on the excellent hospitality provided by our General Manager. It is hard to see what more she could have done to resolve the gift basket misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corkscrew Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corkscrew Inn

Address: 2735 West 2nd Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6K 1K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage corkscrews everywhere, private wine museum, dozens of stained glass windows, antiques and curios: you might not want to tear yourself away to explore the beaches, parks, shops and restaurants only steps away. We love this historic and eclectic part of Vancouver and wouldn’t live anywhere else. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corkscrew Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.