We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same as any other modern cities downtown” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vancouver Downtown

Vancouver Downtown
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Visit Vancouver Downtown like an insider
Top Rated
$63*
and up
Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #11 of 337 things to do in Vancouver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More residential than business.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Same as any other modern cities downtown”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Its a city centre like so many others, shops, bars restaurants, whatever you want. But there is nothing standout-ish about Vancouvers downtown area

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,257
    721
    203
    46
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Cut Glass City in a Platinum Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The vista here is breathtaking, unfortunately the architecture is not complementary of the amazing location - on a saltwater inlet, with beaches, rivers, towering mountains across the bay and the beauty of 500 acre Stanley Park on the doorstep.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“one of the best in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

It's my second time in Vancouver. Being in downtown there is infinite pleasure. Nice walking, good coffees, nice food. Mixture of different faces and ethnic backgrounds, very civilised. Some areas are a bit excentric if not rough though ...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Scenic and walkable, but increasingly aggressive homeless population”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We travel to Vancouver once or twice a year, and one of our favourite things to do is walk around downtown, enjoying the restaurants and taking great photos. The main problem is that the homeless population, which has always been present, is becoming more aggressive. For example, during our most recent trip, when we silently walked past a man who approached us and asked for money, he suddenly began spewing profanities and insults because we ignored him/ wouldn't give any money. He started following us down the street until we ducked into our hotel lobby. We are seasoned travellers and do not scare easily, but it has been disconcerting that we are feeling a little more on guard with each trip to Vancouver.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“How do you rate a city???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Downtown Vancouver is the like most cities....its where things happen. Shopping, museums, malls, and nightlife. Whatever you want its there......Easy to access by sky train from any rural area . Good theatre, lots of restaurants...a good time overall.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vancouver Downtown also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vancouver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.