We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bacon wrapped scallops!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckstop

Buckstop
833 Denman Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
6044282528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #508 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chesley, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Bacon wrapped scallops!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in from West ontario to see owner. Great small bbq restaurant. Young staff trying to improve daily. Great selection wine and beer. Fiona knows her wine. Home smoked bbq. Hush puppies best ever had. Bbq sampler a nice change from a huge plate. Enjoy

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Follow up to my earlier 5 star review...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just keeps getting better at Buck Stop! Already confident their BBQ is top notch, I took the risk of trying Shrimp and Grits during my last visit. As a native of Charleston, South Carolina, the birthplace of shrimp and grits, I knew it was a risky proposition to expect authenticity on this particular dish....but they nailed it! Shrimp perfectly cooked and seasoned and grits with cheddar cheese that my grandmother would have envied! Only thing that could have made it better would have been shrimp form the tidal creeks of the lowcountry! I applaud Buck Stop for continuing to exceed my expectations every time I visit! I should also mention that service is always great, great bartender!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Buckin' Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Taking my highly carnivorous soulmate on a tour of BBQ joints in Vancouver, we just had to try Buck Stop. It was amazing! Generously flowing beer from a full bar! Massive selection of BBQed beasts! Friendly and efficient service! Even a few menu choices for someone not that into meat (I know, sacrilege!) Everything seems to be made from scratch, which of course makes it even better. Don't think about it, just do it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great ribs in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We read all the reviews on the few BBQ restaurants in town and settled on this one. Not much to look at but most BBQ places are like that real simple. But they have a full bar and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. Service was excellent. We ordered a starter of Hush Puppies and Corn Bread which was excellent. We all had either beef ribs or pork ribs which is accompanied by small servings of cole slaw and beans. Everything was delicious, very tasty and tender. They prepare their own BBQ sauce which is also very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
38,155 helpful votes 38,155 helpful votes
“The Best BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Amazing barbeque. This is a rare find on the west coast. The service is as professional as I have ever seen. Friendly and inviting decor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckstop also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Buckstop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckstop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.