We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tap & Barrel Coal Harbour

Tap & Barrel Coal Harbour
1055 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 0C3, Canada (Formerly Tap & Barrel - Coal Harbour)
604-235-9827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 2,771 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The heart of the neighbourhood - celebrating life with the best products that BC has to offer. We serve the province's best selection of local craft beer and premium wines on tap, and our comfort food is locally sourced and made from scratch. Our home is your home... welcome to Tap & Barrel!
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Came here for the first time over the weekend. Told there was a 30 minute wait but we were actually called up within 10 minutes. Never went inside but the patio has great seating. There are two levels to the outdoor seating, one area is more central so you dont have a view of the water whereas the other one higher up has about 5 tables facing the water. Atmosphere was very good, lots of noise and chatter. Our server was friendly and attentive and made lots of suggestions for us. We had the deep fried pickles to start and they were amazing. For dinner I had the linguini pasta with chicken which was decent nothing extraordinary while my boyfriend had the F 'n K burger which has a poutine inside, it was really good! They have a vast selection of wines and beers that are reasonably priced. We would definitely come back here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    63
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Both of us got sick.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had lunch here this week. Both of us had burgers and asked for them extra well done. We were told that they cooked them medium. We again requested well done. The burgers arrived "medium". Both of us were ill about two hours later. Probably the mayo-like sauce.....who knows....

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Nice lunch stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Though a little pricey the establishment served quality eclectic food. The staff was very friendly and quick. We tried our first veggie pizza, a Foraged Wild Mushroom with Hoynes Off The Grid Red Lager. It was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Long wait for a table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Wanted to sit outside but there was over an hours wait so we put our names down for inside, still a 20 minute wait but after a nine hour flight from the UK we just wanted to eat.

Good menu and interesting beer list, I tried the cider which was very good. The burger was great, meaty and juicy, just right. Service was excellent, polite, helpful and not rushed even thought they were busy. There is a lot of choice in Coal Harbour but you should not be disappointed by T&B.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for a simple meal or a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Situated very close to the water the views from the tables outside were great (although it could be a bit cool). Some of the tables were large and while sharing might not suit everyone we didn't see it as a problem. A very wide range of beers was available, there was a good choice of meals and the prices were very reasonable. We also sat inside one night watching various sports on the many TVs - including some in the loos - and enjoying the very lively surroundings. It's got a great location close to Canada Place and handy for lots of Vancouver's attractions.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tap & Barrel Coal Harbour also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tap & Barrel Coal Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tap & Barrel Coal Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.