We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Riding Hood says: This is a Good Wolfe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GoodWolfe Kitchen+Bar

GoodWolfe Kitchen+Bar
1043 Mainland Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1A9, Canada
+1 604-428-1043
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
GoodWolfe Kitchen+Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 2,805 restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Red Riding Hood says: This is a Good Wolfe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

There are lots of enticing restaurants in Yaletown, and we walked past most of them before being lured into GoodWolfe by a knowledgeable and friendly hostess. The menu is brief but varied and thoughtful. I cannot imagine wanting larger portions, as another reviewer wrote. My husband's 12-ounce steak ("grass-fed and happy," our server assured us) looked closer to a pound, and side dishes were piled high into individual casseroles. Fries deserve special mention -- crispy, salty, and hot. Everything arrived at our patio table either piping hot or appropriately chilled. Dishes were flavored in a way that was at once innovative yet instantly familiar (chocolate cardamom cake!). The house cocktails were divine, right down to the whiskey-infused Bing cherry nestled at the bottom of the glass. Service was exceptional, both friendly and professional, and everyone knew the menu inside and out. Just a wonderful meal, sans gimmicks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    46
    10
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hopefully, the food gets better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Eight of us went to this restaurant, and while the atmosphere is great, the food was definitely lacking. Not only were the portions small for what you paid, but in most cases they were nothing special. Hopefully, the food gets better over time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a new restaurant so I hope it doesn't change after it's been around for a while. The menu is not large - a good sign, because the chances of better food are always greater when the menu isn't huge. And the food was delicious! Fresh and interesting...lots of thought given to the menu selections. Service was just as good. It was obvious that the chef/staff cared that we enjoyed our food and our evening...and we did! Keep it up and we will be back! We've already recommended you to family who are going to be in Vancouver this month.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Vancouver food lives up to billing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

As a tourist from socalif it's fun to be the first post of a new restaurant.

When selecting a Yaletown restaurant as a walk in I was hesitant to give the Good Wolfe a try because…. restaurants only open for slightly more than a week usually have many kinks to work out.

However 4 factors convinced us to give the restaurant a try.

1- An energetic knowledgeable pitch at the entry explaining the menu… I later found out that he was the Good in Good Wolfe
2- The potted herbs rimming the outdoor patio which made me think of a commitment to quality and freshness
3- The chef’s name on the Door, the Wolfe in the restaurant name
4- And the Good Wolfe was called a kitchen and bar - suggested to me that these two areas each would have to stand on their own for the restaurant to make it.

I am certainly glad we walked in, as we had a most delicious meal.

I chose the Coc au Vin Blanc, Cornish Hen with bacon vegies and a gewürztraminer sauce. Perfectly sauced, Expertly cooked with just the right amount crispness on the skin. Served with Spaetzle which I had never had before but was quite a well-balanced accompaniment. Very well could be their signature dish the white wine was Definately a nice twist.

My wife tried the Ratatouille Lasagna, This is all vegetable (no pasta) wonderfully baked finished just right with parmesan. This is a smaller portion right sized as an entry for her.

We finished off with the Dark chocolate and Cardamom Torte just sweet enough for a happy ending.

In summary we both agreed that if we in Vancouver longer we definitely would return. As we said to Chef Wolfe as we were leaving. “You need to be open in orange county ca.”

For reference food only 2 entrees and dessert ( including tax ) under $45 seems very competitively priced for Yaletown and a bargain for the quality of our meal.

Service was good, everyone pitches in so that you are not left at only with whim of your servers quality.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GoodWolfe Kitchen+Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia

Been to GoodWolfe Kitchen+Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GoodWolfe Kitchen+Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.