We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun 'flight' over the Canadian landscape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FlyOver Canada

FlyOver Canada
201-999 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3H7, Canada
+(1)604-620-8455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 197 Activities in Vancouver
Type: Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: See Canada like never before at Vancouver's new must-see attraction! At its core,FlyOver Canada is a breathtaking, all-ages, flight simulation ride like no other! You will take off into a huge dome screen with the latest in projection and ride technology creating a true flying experience (complete with wind, scents, and mist!).At FlyOver Canada you will spend approximately 30 minutes getting introduced to our great country. You will first enter the preshow area where you will be immersed in an audio-visual show of Canada "up close and personal" before heading to the boarding zone for your preflight briefing. You will then hit your flight deck and spend 8 minutes on the unforgettable Ultimate Flying Ride soaring east to west over some of the most spectacular scenery the country has to offer.Open year round, 7 days a week. Conveniently located downtown at Canada Place.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A fun 'flight' over the Canadian landscape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are in Vancouver then this is well worth visiting. There is a rather pointless bit of padding at the start where you go into room to see a random video with a few scenes of the outdoors. The cynic in me wonders if they do this on purpose so when you get to the main attraction it's all the more impressive.

The FlyOver Canada experience itself is wonderful but sadly all too short at about eight minutes. I could have happily stayed in there for half an hour. it's a multi sensory experience with various smells and sprays wafting over you at certain times. The actual experience is done really well and you do feel like you are flying over the landscape. It's not something I would repeat as I think it's expensive for such a short time. It's a fun thing to do with the kids if you are in the area or en route elsewhere. I'd recommend to do this either to or from spending the rest of the day in Stanley Park. We paid a few dollars more for a ticket which meant you can get to the front of the queue which is worth it when it's busy.

So all in all an expensive and very enjoyable eight minutes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    250
    79
    28
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Just go and take the kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Amazing, loved it. Could've watched it again( you can for 1/2 price) what a lovely way to see Canada. You will feel like you're in a helicopter....

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over priced, and nowhere near as good as Soaring over California!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I went this afternoon, after enjoying the ride at California Adventure park a few years ago. This ride pales in comparison. Firstly, the canopy over the seats is too close, so it interferes with the experience of seeing the full screen, and getting the best sensation. The actual film is ridiculously short, and missing significant parts of Canada. Many tourists will never know exactly where they were. They could have had a pretend pilot saying that we are now flying over Jasper, for example. Being from Vancouver, the film only had about a 10 second clip of Vancouver. The preamble film was not worthwhile, and the price of this attraction, is way too high. $12.95, maybe.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great "fly-by" of Canada, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The last time we were in Disneyland in 2000, we rode an attraction called "Soaring Over California". Of the many attractions in that famous theme park, that one stood out as the best. It left grins on our faces for a long, long time. Fast forward 13 years and we finally got our version in Vancouver, called "FlyOver Canada". We were ecstatic--*finally* we can reproduce the magic without going down to California! To cut to the chase, the attraction *is* entertaining, but there are plenty of "buts"....

The attraction is divided into three phases: a multimedia "overview" of Canada in a room plastered with floor-to-ceiling screens. We were bombarded with images all things Canadian, complete with requisite hockey images showing our home-town heroes, the Vancouver Canucks. Interestingly, images of young people parkouring dominated the show. Huh--parkour is Canadian? (A quick check of Wikipedia reveals it was actually invented in France.) What about lacrosse, which is suppose to be Canada's other official sport? Not as sexy as people doing backflips I guess.

The second phase was a preflight, with an amusing short video clip explaining the safety procedures. We were told to stand within painted circles while watching it, leading one woman nearby to ask, "Is this it?"

The final phase was the actual ride itself. As best as I can remember, it's the same mechanism as used in the Disney attraction: you're strapped into a canopy that extends and angles, mimicking the flight of the helicopter ride. The image fills your entire vision, using the entire IMAX screen below. The effect is quite realistic and breathtaking as you soar over the Canadian landscape, heading east to west. BUT...the one thing that greatly detracted from my enjoyment was that it was obvious that the images were not shot in IMAX format--it was most likely 35mm stretched to fit the IMAX screen. As a result, the image is not as sharp as it could be and a fair amount of chromatic aberration (colour fringing) could be seen if you look at the edges of the screen. I could have swore the Disney version was sharper, and a check of Wikipedia confirms this: "Soaring Over California" is shot in IMAX HD.

I salute the creators of this attraction for putting in the effort to create it and I feel that it's definitely worth watching at least once. But the price is stiff enough to discourage me from attending repeat viewings. (They don't have a membership of anything similar--the only incentive is that if you're watching it again on the same day, the second time is half price.) At $20 a pop, it's fairly pricey for a 30-minute attraction, of which only about 8 minutes is the actual ride. I decided to play it safe (unnecessarily as it turned out) by ponying up another $2 per ticket for priority seating.

PROS

- Price notwithstanding, this is the cheapest way to get a "helicopter tour" of Canada--much more effective than viewing a video on a computer screen.
- Engages all your senses: sights, sounds, wind sensation, smell.
- Canopy tilts and moves to increase realism of the ride.
- Good excuse to visit the beautiful Canada Place in downtown Vancouver.
- Easy access via SkyTrain.
- Able to book online and choose your preferred time slot.

CONS

- Rather pricey: I would have liked to see it more at the $15 price range.
- Lack of incentives discourages repeat viewings. Perhaps they should sell yearly memberships to drive business? Or discount the attraction during the winter months?
- Quality of the video could be better--the images just weren't that "sharp", especially magnified on a big screen. This decreased the overall realism of the attraction.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
“A virtual helicopter experience over Canada.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A very safe and gentle ride. A virtual helicopter experience (for the 8 minute ride) from the East Coast to the West Coast of Canada. The preamble large screen videos of Canada was very well done and thoroughly enjoyable. I will be taking my son, his wife and my 15 yr. old grandson to the show. Seeing Canada close-up from a different perspective in a simulated helicopter flight is totally worth it.
The day we were there at Canada Place a cruise ship was docked alongside the pier and was an added bonus plus the view over the Burrard Inlet on a sunny afternoon made the whole experience worthwhile.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FlyOver Canada also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to FlyOver Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FlyOver Canada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.