We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dragged there again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival

Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival
1695 Whyte Ave | Vanier Park, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
+1 604-739-0559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 197 Activities in Vancouver
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bard on the Beach is one of Canada's largest not-for-profit, professional Shakespeare Festivals. Presented in a magnificent setting on the waterfront in Vancouver's Vanier Park, the Festival offers Shakespeare plays, related dramas, and several special events in two performance tents from June through September.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dragged there again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Every year I get dragged to this presentation and have to pretend I enjoy it. If you are not a real fan of Shakespeare, expect a very long, hard to even understand 2 hours of suffering. The chairs are made to ensure that you cannot fall asleep, the voices are not clear enough to understand even if you know the words. If you don't already know the play word for word, you will not get it here.

I am sure many people enjoy this setting on the beach which is the best part about it, but I am not one of those...........

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    52
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh, exciting interpretations of timeless, brilliant works”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Every year I am so impressed with the ability of BotB to entertain me and reveal new meaning to Shakespeare's classics. The sets are feasts for the eyes and the directing and acting are top notch. I have never seen a bad performance there. I've never seen a mediocre performance. This year's performance of Hamlet revealed to me so much more depth and nuance about the character. Thank you for that.

My only real criticism is that the seats are a bit hard after 2 hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Valley BC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is an event you should not miss, its awesome. Great production, amazing backdrop. Wonderful atmosphere. l look forward to this every year.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“If you are in Vancouver during Bard on the Beach - GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is one of those events that do only come to Vancouver once a year. It is packed every night for good reason. The talent is exceptional. The plays and direction are excellent. The scenery is divine AND they serve wine and beer for pre-show and intermission. Truly not to be missed. I have enjoyed every one of the plays I have seen here though I do personally prefer Shakespeare's comedies. Enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Audience-Friendly Shakespeare by the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have attended Bard on the Beach regularly for decades. They are exceptionally good a producing audience-friendly productions, most especially of the comedies, Whether you are a Shakespeare buff or hated Shakespeare in high school, you will most likely enjoy these performances We often arrive early and enjoy a picnic dinner before the show.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.