We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar

The Keg Steakhouse & Bar
688 Dunsmuir Street | Downtown Vancouver, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1N3, Canada
604-685-7502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 2,897 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Featuring our mouth-watering steak, tender prime rib and an extensive wine list. We are sure to satisfy your Keg cravings. Choose from our extensive wine list, craft beer, ice-cold draft or our hand-made cocktails; like our Keg Mojito or Keg Caesar. See you tonight!
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great food, great ambience, great service and the waitresses are gorgeous! An excellent experience; highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    75
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food to a higher than average price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This evening some of my friends and I had the dinner at “The Keg” in downtown Vancouver. It was a newly opened branch near Granville and Dunsmiur Street. First I went to the wrong “Keg” at Thurlow Street. They were obviously a bit overwhelmed with the number of guests. When I entered I asked for my friends and described them. One of the personal, who also confirmed my description of the friends, confirmed very friendly that they have booked a table. She guided me to a table where 3 older ladies were sitting. But my friends were male and much younger (at least at the last time I saw them…). Then I got a call that it was the wrong “Keg”. The other “Keg” was new and that’s why I didn’t know that place. The staff was very friendly there too. And the dishes looked pretty delicious too. But as I experience also at “The Keg” in New Westminster, it seems that steakhouse has sometimes trouble to make steaks right. This time I order a medium steak (Top Sirloin & Tiger Shrimp), but I got a medium-rare steak. Of course, they apologized. But for some reason it took them quite a while until I got the steak back. Nevertheless, the food including the dessert (Billy Miner Pie) was delicious.
For a higher level dinner, I can recommend that location, although, the chefs should get more training in getting things in the right way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Steakhouse just off Robson Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice bar and waiting area with beautiful fireplace. The steaks and wedge salad were excellent. The stuffed baked potato was one of the best I've ever had. Seemed to have a shorter wait time than several other restaurants we went to on Robson Street
Also, service was excellent..

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Just had the most amazing meal at The Keg. The prime rib was spot on and tender and the salads were unlike anything I've had.....in a good way. Our server was attentive and friendly without being overbearing. Would recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Attention To Customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We ordered the surf and turf and the manager came to our table and explained there was a problem with the lobster and the chef wanted to redo the meal. They sent another drink to the table while we waited, and the end result was delicious.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keg Steakhouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.