We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
1085 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 0C3, Canada
(604) 620-7410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Visited this restaurant while in holiday in Canada and saw this restaurant while walking on the marina. We booked for later in the week and was a great find. Great food great service and great view of the bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    195
    46
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Looking for lunch to help combat jet lag in Vancouver with an 8 hour time difference I saw the Cactus Club Cafe. Found a table outside and ordered Cactus IPA and a duck club sandwich. The beer was great, cool and hoppy. The sandwich arrived promptly with a bowl of thin cut salty chips from potatoes with skins on. The filling was tasty if a little overdone on a nice fruit bread. Probably the most attratcive collection of waitresses I have seen in a long time if we are allowed to make comments like that.
Looking forward to a return visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic for families with babies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It's hard to find places in Vancouver that are accommodating to families with babies ... and serve alcohol. One such place is this Cactus Club. We've never had a problem bringing our baby and large stroller and we always got a nice table, overlooking the water (in most restaurants they give the families with babies the worst table). I sometimes come here with other moms and at one time we had 3 strollers around our table at lunch time and it wasn't a problem. They also don't mind breastfeeding. And the food is great too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Incredible position, food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Cactus Club has two locations quite close to one another in downtown Vancouver. This one, overlooking the harbour, opened earlier this year and complements the other locations further up Burrard Street. It has unrivaled views across the water, and a prime location alongside the Olympic Cauldron.

On this occasion I tried a dish from each of the course menus - tuna sushi cones, sirloin steak with a 4-mushroom accompaniment and a white chocolate cheesecake. Service was brisk, and friendly. My server had been carefully inducted into the history of the club, its interesting art exhibits and the provenance of the food as well as offering matched wine suggestions. It's clearly establishing itself as a premier-tier restaurant in a crowded and competitive market.

Each course was presented in an appealing and innovative manner, down to micro cuts of cilantro and ginger with the tuna, and a varied selection of mushrooms and demi-glace with the steak, which is also grain-fed Alberta Angus certified - ultimately, it also tasted fantastic!

I don't have a sweet tooth, and usually choose cheese or nothing, but was swayed by the mix of tart berries alongside less cloying white chocolate cheesecake. It was a wise choice!

Really, quite an outstanding meal and one I hope to repeat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Impeccable Service, Spectacular Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family ate hear for lunch after a morning of touring and walking the Gastown area of Vancouver. This was the best meal we had in Vancouver. The location at Canada Place is gorgeous - right on the water overlooking Stanley Park and Vancouver Harbour. Everyone enjoyed their meal here. I had a short rib sandwich and my wife had fish tacos. The food was fabulous. The service was very attentive without being overbearing. The restaurant is smartly decorated and very comfortable. I really enjoyed having lunch here. The entrees are a bit pricey, but they have a good mix of sandwiches, salads and appetizers that are more reasonable. I agree with another review that if you can wait for a table overlooking the the harbour, it would be worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Club Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.