We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Cafe Right on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tartine Bread & Pies

Tartine Bread & Pies
770 Beach Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 3E2, Canada
+1 604-685-7437
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #896 of 3,032 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: Inspired and imagined by Jo-Ann, the bakery is simply an extension of her love for people and food. Muffins, breads, tarts and treats. Our menu is full of variety. We cater lunch functions with hearty sandwiches, soups, salads and pastries. Simple, not to be reproduced, this bakery is as unique as its setting just off English Bay. Started out of her own kitchen, Jo-Ann's aim is easily detected: she simply wants you to adore her baking. And you will.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Cafe Right on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were staying on Granville Island for a week and made a point to visit Tartine to stuff ourselves of its pies and sandwiches. They have a wide selection of sandwiches, we had a turkey sandwich which had cranberry sauce, gravy mayonaisse and lettuce, tomatoes and cucumbers on multi grain bread. We always started off vowing to be healthy and grab just a nutritious sandwich. But the pies, tarts and cookies are too good to resist. We always end up finishing our meal off with pie.

While hanging out and becoming regulars at the cafe for the time we were there, we got to know the locals. It seemed like everyone knew the owner, Joanne, on a first name basis. She was extremely pleasant and made us feel at home. It has true neighbourhood spirit, and it's right on the beach.

One downside is that it doesn't really seat that many people. I say, grab your stuff to go and take a walk to the beach. Find a place on the sand and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sandwiches that please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Based on three takeouts, I can enthusiastically recommend the sandwiches and cookies from Tartine. The staff are friendly and helpful, and they even gave me a pastry shortly before closing time. Now, that's customer friendly. This is a great place to pick up lunch to take down to the park along the sea wall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Service can be offhand? Delicious tarts, sandwiches too at reasonable prices. Has lost some of its neighbourhood lustre lately. Too bad

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent pies, great lunch, fantastic baked goods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We live in the same building as Tartine and it is a dangerous combination.

It's a great little cafe. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable and the food is great quality. Someone they produce a wide range of pies, from the decadent (chocolate pecan) to simply delicious (rhubarb and cream) and we have never had a bad pie from them.

Baked goods are excellent as well, from the bread to the croissants (possibly the best I have had in vancouver - certainly on a par with Thomas Hass). Sometimes they make a croq Monsieur which is big enough to fill you up for the day.

Lunch they have a range of sandwhiches made fresh to order and soups (no idea if they make those, though).

Overall it's a great find and surprisingly popular considering it's slightly off the beaten track. But well worth the visit.

It's just a shame that TripAdvisor failed to list them in Vancouver, as that is where they are, rather then in Victoria on Vancouver Island, which is where they are not.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartine Bread & Pies also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tartine Bread & Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tartine Bread & Pies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.