We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and doughnuts to dream about” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 49th Parallel Roasters Cafe

49th Parallel Roasters Cafe
2902 Main St, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T3G3, Canada
604-872-4901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 2,779 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Donuts
Dining options: Breakfast, Coffee & Tea
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Coffee & Tea
NS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Coffee and doughnuts to dream about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

While visiting Vancouver I was on the hunt for great coffee and through a blogger found 49th parallel. Visited both locations in the course of my stay. Both locations were great and the coffee and doughnuts ( lucky's in store) were fantastic. I bought some to take home and sadly finished my last doughnut last night. Heartily recommend the cruller, cinnamon, croissants and the maple bacon fritter. I did buy a bag of Sulawesi coffee beans ( loved my americano in store) and will open that once my current beans are done. While service was good overall I did find the staff far more friendly and helpful at the Main Street location.

Looking forward to my next trip and my coffee and doughnuts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Heavenly salted caramel donuts from Lucky donuts with a yummy cappuccino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

You must stop at 49th Parallel for a luscious cup of coffee and treat yourself to a decadent dessert. It is a lovely restaurant with friendly staff. You will be charged up to do some fun shopping on West 4th Avenue in Vancouver. This great place is situated next door to Purdy's chocolates.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Doughnuts to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had heard about the doughnuts from this café and bought several to enjoy with coffee. They were expensive but delicious and were available in several different tastes. We had double chocolate, old fashioned, pistachio and orange and salted caramel and savoured them

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic freshly roasted coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Go to West 4th street. One of my favorite streets in Vancouver. You must go to 49th Parallel for a freshly roasted coffee and grab a salted caramel or other donuts from the selection of Lucky donuts. Go on and treat yourself.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Perfection in coffee + doughnuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to find an error at 49th Parallel. The coffee is exquisite, the doughnuts delicious, the decor authentic, and the service great. Always worth the visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 49th Parallel Roasters Cafe also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to 49th Parallel Roasters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 49th Parallel Roasters Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.