We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went for gluten free fish and chips” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Shack

The Fish Shack
1026 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-678-1049
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fish Shack is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #362 of 2,795 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nelson & Granville
Transit: Public transit offers accessibility to every Lower Mainland destination within one minute of The Fish Shack's front door. Choose from the bus, the Skytrain, Seabus or taxis.
Description: From the fisherman’s ship to the Granville Street strip – here, the seafood is as fresh as the crowd. So roll up your sleeves, tie on a bib, grab a mallet and dig in – The Fish Shack has arrived.
delta bc
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“went for gluten free fish and chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have a friend who is celiac so we went to try the gluten free fish and chips.
Since I am not I was able to sample both and they were good. The gluten free option was actually lighter and less oily than the regular batter.
The children had the fish tacos and enjoyed them. Good food, a little pricey. 22$ for 2 pieces of halibut and chips with a side of very bland coleslaw.Many places in the city offer a finer dining option than this for cheaper.
What we did not enjoy was the fishy smell that permeated the dining area upstairs every time staff went into the cooler to retreive an item. Very fresh fish does not smell fishy... so folks at the fish shack , time to clean your cooler

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi there. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your meals with us! Please know that I have passed on your comments to the entire restaurant team to be looked in to. If you have any additional feedback, please email marketing@glowbalgroup.com and we will be in touch right away. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    32
    45
    20
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Will never go back to that shack”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

4 of us went to eat there thinking we were going to have an amazing sea food dinner. The first thing we did was ordered cocktails. My husband and our friend had beer, not bad. We asked for their special tequila margarita. What a horrible thing. It was just lemonade with I guess their tequila. Really really bad , we couldn't drink it. Asked the girl for another drink, it was worse and I mean soo bad we couldn't drink it either. The soup was good and the oysters but the fish was horrible. Dud I said fish? Sorry, it came fried, looking like a cocoon made if greasy crispy dough and when it cracked there was hardly any fish inside. Very disappointing We are the French fries. If you are looking for a good sea food place avoid this one

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi there. I'm sorry to hear of your recent experience with us. I have passed on your feedback to the restaurant. Please know that we are always happy to immediately replace any dish that a customer is not 100% satisfied with. If you have any additional comments, please email them to marketing@glowbalgroup.com and we will follow up. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Benny and buck a shuck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The brunch benny was great. The Salmon was better than the crab. The best was the buck a shuck. So good!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Great to hear! Next time, try the Carrot Cake French Toast...it is DELICIOUS! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went to The Fish Shack with another couple expecting the Glowbal experience to be a good one. The waiter was friendly with a perma-smile on his face. The restaurant was busy at 7:10 pm and it took a long time for him to bring our cocktails. We had to ask for water 3 times before it finally came. When he took our order we asked for the lobster special only to find out they were sold out on a Sunday night. It would have been nice if he told us ahead of time. The waiter highly recommended the fish tacos - two of us ordered them and both of them were fishy tasting and inedible due to the lettuce making the tacos soggy. We ordered a bottle of wine which came 20 minutes after we were served dinner. The waiter kept blaming every one else but in the end we felt he was at least 75% responsible. After much frustration we spoke to the manager who appropriately offered to give us something other than the tacos. He also in the end comped us for all of our food and provided us with dessert. We covered the costs of the liquor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a chance to speak with the manager and that the restaurant is aware of your experience. Please know this is not Glowbal Group's standard for service as we always want our guests to leave having had a great time. If you have any additional feedback, please do not hesitate to be in touch directly - marketing@glowbalgroup.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I think the title says it all, we had lunch here and they had great fish. I had the salmon and my husband had the fish and chips. Loved the atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Great to hear! Thanks for lunching with us and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fish Shack again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Shack also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.