We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food; Arrogant Waiters.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Espana

Espana
1118 Denman Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-558-4040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food; Arrogant Waiters.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were a group of students who expected a scrumptious meal. Although they were friendly in welcoming us, once we were seated, the waiters barely made eye contact with us and never once checked on us. They preferred to served customers who seemed more affluent and did the bare minimum for us. At least to us, the intimidating service ruined the dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    39
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Fun and Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The owner of my B&B recommended Espana. I was traveling alone and sat at the bar - the place was packed! I went with the bartender's recommendations (flowering kale and chicken skewers) and wasn't disappointed - so good! The drinks were super tasty, too - I had the Espana Negroni and their Sangria, both better than versions I've had elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olympia, washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful discovery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Welcome to Spain in Vancouver. Very delightful plates and wine selections. Tempranillo, patatas bravas, a special toast, and a few additional small plates were all delicious. Staff is graceful and personable. I look forward to my next visits to Vancouver and sampling many of Espana's fine tapas.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Tops for Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great place to have authentic tapas. Everything we ordered was very well done and tasteful. I would dare to call it the best tapa place in Vancouver. The location is not very big so it gets loud and intimate (with your neighbours) very fast. Also, they don't take reservations. Thus, arrive early or get ready to wait for awhile. Overall, it's worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was one of the best dinig experience in Vancouver. Very tasty tapas and good vine to choose from. It is a little crowded at dinner time, but you can seat t the bar and have a good time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.