We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tapas ever tasted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Espana

Espana
1118 Denman Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-558-4040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 2,847 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best tapas ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We found this place on short stay in the city from Ireland. Not only was it open late, but the food was amazing. Atmosphere was authentically eclectic and the service was relaxed but efficient. We arrived quite late so the place was buzzing with late night noshers. I had an amazing fish dish that was quite literally a taste sensation and their special tortilla with carmilized red onion was outstanding. Having spent a bit of time in Spain noshing on quite a bit of tapas myself, I would say this was the best tapas I have ever had. My friends also agreed. Quite a find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    35
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal - cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

First time to this great restaurant - knocked our socks off. It is loud and crowded, but in a good, vibey way. We came at 8:30 on Friday evening and waited about 20 min (with a drink in hand) for a seat at the bar.

The menu is plentiful and we were having a hard time narrowing it down so just asked the server to feed us. I would highly recommend doing this! 5 out of the 6 dishes were phenomenal, and the 6th wasn't bad, just not for my personal taste. Interesting flavours (ie: duck liver pate with anchovy) and nice tapas portions. Finish off with a nice glass of sherry - delicious! We will be returning!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Sophisticated tastes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Get there early for attentive service and no wait. This place has very elevated cuisine and adventurous ingredient combinations. They are also willing to make accommodation for vegetarian, particularly when they're not super busy. The waitress was completely down with the menu and the wine list, making excellent recommendations and able to explain food nuances. Would have been 5 stars except for a heavy hand with the salt on two dishes - maybe the chef did not taste?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouv er
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Tapas in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great atmosphere, busy, fun, great service and wonderful tapas. What more for a wonderful evening on Denman Street, Vancouver?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We always wanted to try this place as it's busy as hell, be we got there early and there was no wait time. They have friendly staff and atmosphere. Food tastes great, it doesn't matter what it is, everything is great there, even if you're not a fan of Kale you should try their Catalans!
The crispy cheek pea is just amazing.
They also have a good selection of wines.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.