We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza place, traditional and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Via Tevere Pizzeria

Via Tevere Pizzeria
1190 Victoria Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-336-1803
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Milford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great pizza place, traditional and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I went out of the way to try Via Tevere, as it isn't really in a touristy part of Vancouver. A colleague recommended it as the best pizza in the area, and that was true. Had a short wait on a Tuesday night, 10 minutes or so, nothing excessive. Once seated our waitress was prompt and helpful, checked up on us frequently, and brought us some awesome pizzas. If I ever find myself passing thru Vancouver again, I will certainly stop here for a meal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Pizza is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Via Tevere is an interesting little place given its location and style. Service is good, pizza is authentic and delicious. I would say its the second-best pizza in the city, one down from Nicli Antica Pizza. Vancouverites are richer for the pizza establishments that have come to the city in the last 3 years.

Crust is perfect. The only thing that Nicli Antica has on Via Tevere is the combination of ingredients I believe are a notch above Via Tevere.

Go, you'll love it. Skip the appies, they are substandard.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Vancouver...by far...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This has to be the best pizza I've had since being in Italy. A true Neapolitan pizza served here in Vancouver. There is no gas pizza oven here, only the warm glow of a real fire to give the crust that smokey flavour. Sauce is excellent, and options for toppings are plenty. They don't take reservations, but open at 5pm, thus, you either need to get there earlier than 5, or wait the first rush out. I've had success walking in and getting a table around 7:40ish during the weekdays (closed on Mondays). Go check it out, you can thank me later! They also have a food truck with a wood fire oven that makes sandwiches, the bread for the sandwich is the same as the pizza crust, they just fold it over and cut it....great also...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This May Indeed Be The Best Pizza I Have Had in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having had enjoyed some truly amazing pizza both in its native Napoli and a couple of places in Rome, I was very curious to see if what many of my friends were saying was true... that Via Tevere made the best pizza in Vancouver... Well I would have to say that Via Tevere wins by an aquiline nose... the runners up being Campagnolo and Farina on Main Street. Via Tevere provides a great package though... a beautifully balanced menu, friendly and attentive staff, a comfortable and wonderfully appointed old heritage venue in one of Vancouver's funkiest neighbourhoods. Their pizze truly are sensational and the Frittura Napolitana to die for...

Sadly, whoever was behind the bar the night I went did not know how to make a proper Aperol Spritz... (as per the Aperol website: 3 parts prosecco, 2 parts Aperol, and a splash of soda with a slice of orange) There was not enough Aperol or conversely too big a splash of sparkling water, and instead of the traditional orange slice, they served mine with—blasphemy of blasphemies—a flavour profile-changing and esthetic-diminishing lime wedge. Ack!!! (Though a web search of Aperol Spritz recipes may produce some results that substitute lime for orange this is not the recipe on the Aperol website.) Beautifully made traditional and authentic Neapolitan pizzas deserve faithfully reproduced Italian drinks to go with them.

The pizzas were prefection... The service, super. If I had been brought a properly made Aperol Spritz my Italy-nostalgic heart and stomach truly would have been over the moon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best pizza in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Arrive early and with an empty stomach. The pizza here is amazing.
We typically order the pasta of the day, an arugula salad and a pizza each, followed by dessert.

The wait to feta table may seem ridiculous but it is well worth it!!

Located in a cute little Vancouver neighbourhood. Walk along commercial drive while you wait for your table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Tevere Pizzeria also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Via Tevere Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Tevere Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.