We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Night For Girlfriends to Catch Up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchants Oyster Bar

Merchants Oyster Bar
1590 Commercial Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 3Y2, Canada
604-258-0005
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Merchants Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #465 of 2,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Graveley
Transit: Bus #20 and Broadway Skytrain within walking distance
BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Night For Girlfriends to Catch Up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My bestfriend suggested Merchants for our girls night out, and the atmosphere, food and great service certainly made our night!

We opted to sit at the bar in order to be able to sit as long as we liked. It was a Saturday night and we arrived without reservations.

We started with a glass of bubbly, later moving on to wine (selected by the bartender) and shared the prix fixe menu, adding some extra oysters (which were lovely and very fresh tasting) and pasta. This was the perfect amount of food for the two of us, and allowed us to taste more on this fabulous menu. By the end of the meal we were perfectly full and finished off the meal with a complimentary glass of ice wine.

Everything was beautifully prepared and delicious! The service from the bartender/manager was perfect; helpful but not constantly breaking in to your conversation.

All in all a wonderful place for two old friends to catch up. Looking forward to going back!

Oh, I guess one very minor complaint. ;) After such a lovely meal I ordered an espresso, but was shocked to learn that they didn't have a machine! The bartender explained that the one they had was too large and they were looking for a new one that would suit the restaurant. Fair enough. Hope they have it for the next time I'm back in Vancouver.

Above meal with wine, tax and tip was $115.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great new Seafood restaurant in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Merchant's is a nice small fresh seafood restaurant in Vancouver. A small menu but well done with creative touches. Fresh oysters are always good. The dishes are fun to share. Try the bone marrow (very interesting) and the scallops are excellent, a little small but maybe that's the time of year. The desserts change but if they have the salty chocolate, it's a must. Nice friendly service without being overbearing and the manager makes sure you are happy and well taken care of.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food that takes forever to come”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This restaurant gets mixed reviews from us. We waited close to twenty minutes between dishes. It wasn't very busy when we visited. There were empty tables, so there was really no excuse why the food should take so long.
The roasted beet was rather disappointing. It tasted rather home cooked and non descript. The presentation was sloppy. The olives dish was served warm. You are expected to eat with your hands. The waitress saw that we didn't want to do that, so she handed us each a single toothpick. For the kind of restaurant this is I expected some type of utensil (or at least toothpicks that come in a container).
What redeems this restaurant for me is the other dishes. The roasted squash soup was creamy and delicate. The tuna poke was nicely flavored. The parpadelle is home made and tasted light. The confit pork belly was absolutely delicious. We had a salted chocolate terrine for desert. It was salted just enough and very tasty. My husband was turned off salted desert after a particularly fouled experience years ago and now he is a convert.
The owner came up and asked us personally how the food was . That was a nice touch. Our waitress and waiter were friendly and attentive. The food is not expensive.
It is a fairly new restaurant. All of the flaws may be just due to inexperience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Love this place, Quality everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This place is awesome, a fantastic menu, incredible service and great drinks! Go and sit at the bar and sample one of the best places on commercial drive.

Oyster happy hour from 5-6pm daily...do it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A few friends and I just had brunch there today and I overall, the restaurant was quite good. The food was fresh and delicious, albeit the chef was seen running over to buy more groceries a few time during our stay.

The menu was nice and simple, a few of my friends had the various egg benedicts and did not have anything bad to say about it.

The oysters were fresh and tasty with homemade cocktail sauce to boot!

The ambience was nice and quaint; its a small restaurant newly opened up on Commercial Drive.

My only suggestion for improvement would be the service. Don't get me wrong, the staff was friendly, but I thought we could have been waited on a bit more. It didn't seem busy in the restaurant at the time, with only 3 or 4 other parties, but the server never followed up on us after our initial drinks were served, or after our meals were served. For example, the server didn't offer us more tea, water or coffee. In fact, we had to ask each time in order to get our refills. It may not seem like much, but when you see the server standing by the bar eating and not waiting on tables...

Overall, I would go back for the food, not so much for the service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchants Oyster Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Merchants Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchants Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.