We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our last meal in Vancouver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gurkha Himalayan Kitchen

Gurkha Himalayan Kitchen
1141 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E1N2, Canada
+1 604-565-7965
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 2,873 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Tibetan, Nepali
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Loved our last meal in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The food was sooo good and tasty. My husband and I had the momos, panfried, meat and veggie combo suggested by the chef. It was delicious! We also had goat curry, the best tasting goat curry I ever had. The dessert (I forgot the name of it) was ok for me but my husband loved it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    29
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“amazingly spiced food and fantastically friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

never tried Nepalese food before, and now dont understand why it hasnt taken off because it is incredible. We both love Indian food but always feel full when finished, with this meal we felt satisfied and amazed at the flavors we experienced, definitely a food trend for the future
if you visit Vancouver this place is a must for any foodie you will not be disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food, amazing spices, and good drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I could eat here everyday. They cook with the most amazing and fragrant spices I have ever tasted. My favorite are the Momos, WOW, you must try them !! Also try the Lassi which is a cold mango yogurt drink, it is heavenly. Not fancy inside, very relaxed and has limited seats outside, but not facing Davie...facing the...back?!
I will be back to have more delicious food soon

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very healthy, seat by kitchen not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went with several other people. As a frequent connosieur of Indian food, it was not my favorite (the saag was mustard greens with lots of stems -- kind of unusual), but I thought it was pretty good. The food was tasty, but the saag plate was not at all filling. I probably should have ordered naan with it, but the saag plate was good for my near-vegan diet, so I didn't. My husband had the vegetarian combo plate, which he liked very much and was just the right amount of food for him. One of our friends had fish and liked it. The owner and waitstaff were very friendly and wanted us to like the food. The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere, but we were seated at a little table near the kitchen and bathroom which I did not like -- it was not nearly as nice as the seating in the main area. Overall, a good place to eat a tasty, healthy meal in a pleasant environment, served by very kind people!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Recently visited this place with my wife and 7yrs old son. Normally, my son is very picky with his food, however, I was very surprised to see how much he enjoyed the chicken lollypops and his mango lassi at this place. The server was very nice and was careful on recommending foods which would suit our taste buds. She took extra effort to ask about our likes and dislikes and any food allergies. We tried tensing momu, Pokhara Lamb and Himali Chicken and found every dish to be excellent. Momo and Pokhara Lamb were the highlight for us while our son enjoyed his lollypop chicken.

Over all, a pleasant and unrushed home type meal experience. Will definitely visit back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gurkha Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurkha Himalayan Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.