We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bikes and helpful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spokes Bicycle Rentals

Spokes Bicycle Rentals
1798 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
+1 604-688-5141
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spokes Bicycle Rentals is your gateway to world famous Stanley Park. Spokes offers a variety of rental bicycles for a truly unique way to sightsee in Vancouver. Visit Spokes to start exploring Stanley Park and Vancouver by bike.
La Herradura, Spain
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great bikes and helpful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Five of us hired bikes from here to cycle the Seawall and Stanley Park. The bikes are beach cruisers, well maintained and really easy to ride and the staff were really helpful. The shop is very busy with lots of different nationalities of tourists and the staff all have badges showing which languages they can speak. We were served by an English girl who sorted us out quickly.

The guy who got the bikes for us even gave the girls pink bikes which they asked for and made sure everything was checked and adjusted - seat height, brakes, helmets etc The shop is just next to Stanley Park so the location is really handy. It was a beautiful hot day and we had a wonderful afternoon cycling round Stanley Park and along the Seawall. Spokes are not the cheapest bike shop around as there are several others along this street but they have the best bikes.
While cycling through the park we met 3 police officers all of whom were English and we had an interesting chat to them and they let the kids have their picture taken with them. We all said the afternoon biking through Stanley Park was one of the best things we did in Vancouver so we did it again 2 days later.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    20
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterdown, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
“super helpful and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

we had originally planned on renting our bikes from English Bay, but this location was closer to our hotel. The service at this shop was excellent, assisting with bike selection and fitting for a full family of 5, all of whom had requests (mtn, road, cruiser, who knew?!). Anyway, they were patient and super encouraging to the less experienced riders with us, and provided us with helpful locks for the adults. They even gave us the best routes for our kids to travel (as we were concerned about them riding in traffic). Not to worry, we were guided along gentle bike paths, with no traffic and great views for pictures. My kids were never at risk or felt scared about cars or pedestrians. We were able to navigate our way with clear instructions, to Stanley Park and around, with no issues at all. Good bikes, helmets provided, and super prices. The staff offered such good service, I will definitely return again!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We rented bicycles from Spokes while visiting Vancouver. They have a helpful staff with plenty of well cared for bicycles. They have a great selection of styles as well. They even provide an helmet and a basket for your bike. They are just one block from Stanley Park which makes it very convenient.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Plenty of staff to get you in and out. Really helpful that they opened an hour earlier than some of the competition so we could get on the road. They pro-rate their fees - we were a little late on the returns and only got charged an extra 15 minutes rather than a full hour. Store is a block from entrance to Stanley Park which was very nice

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great service, well-maintained bikes, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The people at Spokes were very friendly, efficient and helpful. They offer a good selection of bikes (the 7 speed cruiser is great for sightseeing), well-maintained, with helmets, baskets and locks included in the price. The store is located near the entrance to Stanley Park. The staff adjusted the bikes to our sizes, gave us helpful sightseeing tips and explained the Vancouver bike path system. Prices were on the high end, however the service and conventience make it worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spokes Bicycle Rentals also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Spokes Bicycle Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spokes Bicycle Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.