We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fable

Fable
1944 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6L1G6, Canada
+1 604-732-1322
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fable is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 2,801 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: between Maple and Cypress
Description: Fresh food brought in daily and prepared fresh for service. Defining Canadian cuisine.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have gone to Fable many times, starting with the first visit during their first week after opening. The food, service and overall experience were amazing the first time and have remained consistently great with each subsequent visit. The first dinner was with my wife, and we've returned many times with friends, family and our out-of-town visitors to share our love of this restaurant.

The food at Fable is always great - wonderfully prepared without being too 'fussy'. Trevor Bird and his team always manage to provide dishes that are wonderfully balanced in flavors, textures as well as visually. The service is a good mix of attentive, knowledgable and friendly - be sure to take any suggestions they may have.

As a bonus, small groups can request the chef's table seats on the bar right in front of the kitchen. We usually request these seats to get a great view of the talented kitchen crew in action.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    91
    24
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Put aside the restaurant's atmosphere for a moment - warm, cozy, and a little like being snuggled up inside a log cabin on a lake - or the service, which was equally memorable as the head chef visited our table. The food was outstanding! We started with the cornbread, which they make to order. It also comes with a spicy jalapeno butter - yum. I had the "canned tuna" for an appetizer. Don't be fooled by the strange name. It's delicious. I asked about it and they said it's one of their top sellers. They put raw tuna, fingerling potatoes, cherry tomatoes, olive oil, and preserved lemon in a little mason jar and boil it until it's cooked. The finished product is flavourful and satisfying. I had the daily special for my main, which was a halibut dish. All the food is fresh and creative, and (apparently) Fable uses the entire animal when they cook with meat, which - being a bit of a softy - I really like. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

It all starts with a warm reception and great service. We were greeted by a very friendly hostess who promptly seated us. The menu is diverse and well priced.
Our waitress took the time to explain every dish as she delivered them and recommended great wine pairings to go with each. I would highly recommend this place for a night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Three of us ate at Fable on an early Thursday night. Since it was 5:30 pm, the restuarant was relatively empty when we got there and the service was good throughout. We had 2 appetizers and 3 main courses. We thought the flatbread was fine, the gnocchi good. However, I thought the famed caned tuna was so so, and the two fish maincourses strange. I had a fish special (don't remember exactly) that I did not care for and the waitress swapped it for the slow cooked trout. The trout was fine but perhaps the cooking style was just not my preference.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fable Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Mother's Day Brunch at Fable's Vancouver location , food was delicious served in a most relaxed atmosphere,
Food presentation not only visually stunning, but most divine!
So happy to hear that it is co-owned by an ex-Montrealer,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fable also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia

Been to Fable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fable, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.