We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fable

Fable
1944 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6L1G6, Canada
+1 604-732-1322
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fable is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 2,845 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: between Maple and Cypress
Description: Local food brought in daily and prepared fresh for service. Defining Canadian cuisine.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

It all starts with a warm reception and great service. We were greeted by a very friendly hostess who promptly seated us. The menu is diverse and well priced.
Our waitress took the time to explain every dish as she delivered them and recommended great wine pairings to go with each. I would highly recommend this place for a night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    34
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Three of us ate at Fable on an early Thursday night. Since it was 5:30 pm, the restuarant was relatively empty when we got there and the service was good throughout. We had 2 appetizers and 3 main courses. We thought the flatbread was fine, the gnocchi good. However, I thought the famed caned tuna was so so, and the two fish maincourses strange. I had a fish special (don't remember exactly) that I did not care for and the waitress swapped it for the slow cooked trout. The trout was fine but perhaps the cooking style was just not my preference.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fable Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Mother's Day Brunch at Fable's Vancouver location , food was delicious served in a most relaxed atmosphere,
Food presentation not only visually stunning, but most divine!
So happy to hear that it is co-owned by an ex-Montrealer,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Near perfection. We were 9 people and I managed to taste 5 different dishes, all of them delicious. Not an easy feat to pull off perfectly cooked Eggs Benedict on a busy Mother's Day brunch; to time it so that all of us got our plates at the same time, and warm too!; to keep the (very good) coffee flowing. And to boot the plates were attractively arranged, and the staff was friendly. Even the owner nicely indulged my overly chatty sister and never let on just how crazy busy he was. Wonderful Mother's Day thanks to Fable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Neighbourly Perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fable is the sort of neighbourhood restaurant we all wish was just around the corner. Simple food based on locally sourced ingredients and solid technic means the dishes not only satisfy but wow us. Try the "canned tuna" it's a go to dish. The rabbit special and fish dishes on offer when we dined were damn good too. Service is friendly and efficient but hey this is Canada, what do you expect? Sit at the bar and you can almost lend the chefs a hand. The desserts although tasty were a touch too tricky for the style of dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fable also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Fable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fable, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.