We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not gourmet but comfort food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Luxy

Cafe Luxy
1235 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N4, Canada
+1 604-669-5899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #948 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not gourmet but comfort food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Ok people! This food is not gourmet so you can't compare it to a high-end restaurant. We used to dine here regularly when we lived in Vancouver. It hasn't changed. The pasta is still great - cooked al dente to perfection. Yes, the chicken does have an odd rubbery texture. The sauce (rose Gorgonzola on the penne ricardo) is tasty. The pizza was good. Ceasar salad fresh. Ambience great. For the price, it is excellent value. Oh and the sangria is still my favorite! Service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Sad Pasta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I ate here often when we lived in Vancouver 15 years ago. I don't know if my taste buds have become more refined or if it has gotten worse, but were we ever disappointed. How can you ruin pasta so badly? The chicken I had in my dish barely was terrible - rubbery and weird and the sauce was below average. My husband had bolognese and he found it just okay - but the consistency of the pasta was odd.

Such a shame because the room is great, the service was excellent, the music and ambiance all get top marks. The cocktails looked fabulous. Maybe go for a drink at the bar and then head off somewhere else for the main event.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“The worst Italian food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The pizza is like cardboard. The pasta absolutely disgusting. If anyone thinks this is good Italian they really need to get out more. Horrible horrible horrible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“For a night of pure romance...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Located in the heart of the beautiful and scenic West End on Davie Street, this little café is romance itself. It has one of the most appealing decor's that I have ever had the pleasure of seeing. It is a tiny place with intimate tables, soft lighting and an extensive wine list and Italian menu. The pastas are absolutely perfect and are gently kissed with soft sauces and seafoods and fresh breads with balsalmic vinegar and olive oils appear before the lovers like magic. Well trained and courteous staff offer choices and extend the evening by giving suggestions when asked and disappearing discreetly when the lovers lean in for a kiss or hold hands in the candlelight. A woman feels more beautiful here and she is in for a night of soft kisses and tender moments as this place lends itself to pure passion. You will delight and heighten your senses here and come away feeling a little more in love.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“From its rating, I expected more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I came to Cafe Lucy because I was looking if a good Italian meal in the Village. When I saw the rating on Trip Advisor, I thought I'd found my place. It turned out that it was just out of the Village - and it was not busy, especially for a Friday night. The atmosphere was just barely OK - it could easily be made nice. Why they need a big flat-screen TV in a restaurant, I don't know. At least the sound wasn't on. The music, real Italian music like you'd hear in Italy, was really nice.

The Caesar Salad was very good, but the portion was small for the mid-size bowl. The garlic bread was delicious. I ordered the Seafood Lasagna and, true to the reviews, the portion was huge. The pasta was a nice consistency and the sauce was delicious, but you could really only taste the shrimps when it comes to seafood.

The server was quite friendly, but glasses sat on the table long after they were empty - and until I left. All the food was served promptly - except I was offered more bread when my meal came and I had to ask again when he did the quality check. (I was half way through meal by then).

So, overall it was good, but as visitor to Vancouver, I'd look for someplace that feels more special
next time round.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luxy also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cafe Luxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Luxy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.