We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eats!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Luxy

Cafe Luxy
1235 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N4, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-669-5899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,005 of 2,809 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Sechelt, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good eats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Went to Cafe Luxy on Sunday after a good 15 year absence and I just loved it! This is definitely not the best Italian joint in Vancouver but it is great. Very affordable, service was great and cheery. The pomegranate martinis were lovely and their wine list very affordable (Masi Valpolicella for 40$).

Most meals are under 20$ which includes garlic bread and a small salad and the pasta plates are huge, so for sure you have another meal to take away. I had the Carbonara, not the best but good, cannot complain.

My favourite thing I have to admit, is the great ambiance of one of Davie street's old standards. With the windows open on a warm summer night, seeing the Davie street action is a real treat. Makes me miss living in Vancouver.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    14
    16
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can always depend on our local favorite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Trusted consistency in service, atmosphere, and most of all quality of food! More cannot me said about how wonderful the owners treat their guests...and this translates into the delicious offerings!! A must visit and always try the special!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, MA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went to this Italian restaurant based on the recommendation of our hotel. While the service was very good, the same could not be said for our food. I ordered a linguine bolgonese, and the sauce sat like a thick paste on my pasta. My wife was underwhelmed by her tortellini dish, and my son ate only two slices of his pizza.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Came here for a Sunday brunch while visiting friends. It is a little restaurant on Davie Street with doors the open out to give you an outside experience while still being seated inside.
The menu has a large variety of pastas to choose from. The food is fresh, pasta is perfectly cooked, sauces are flavorful without being overbearing.
The waiter was very friendly and accommodating, terrific service.
Prices are very reasonable.
We will be coming here again on our next trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“slow and incomplete order”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

There was 4 of us who dropped in for breakfast on a Saturday morning.Bistro was about 1/3 full and after ordering breakfast we were left waiting way too long to receive it.One of our breakfast was left short a side order of bacon, so we informed the waiter.This side order was delivered to our table when all 4 of us were finished our breakfast...a little too late really.Overall I would give this place a miss as there are a lot of other less expensive, more efficient restaurants in this area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luxy also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cafe Luxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Luxy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.