We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Viva Suites to your Saves list
Viva Suites
1311 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2P3, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
clavering
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“5th visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have recntly returned to the UK after our 5th stay at the Viva suites We experienced the same high standard of comfort and cleanliness as on our previous visits, coupled with the same friendliness from the staff

We look forward to our net visit!

Richard and Rhona Norden 4 April 2013

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi C, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello Richard and Rhona Norden,
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive words about Viva Suites. We want to continue to make your visit enjoyable so please let us know how we can meet your needs and expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in Viva Suites for a little getaway and were blown away by the size and cleanliness of the suites. The staff were very helpful and reception was warm and friendly. The convenience of in suite laundry and a full kitchen was very useful in cutting back the costs of eating out every night. The suites have huge windows and although there is construction in the area we still had decent views. We would definitely come back again and would highly recommend it over staying in a regular hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi C, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello and many thanks for your review. I'm so glad that you had a wonderful stay in Vancouver and a positive experience at Viva Suites. We take pride in our spacious suites and customer service. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I believe that the staff is doing the best with what they have -- a dated building with tired units with worn furniture and virtually no accessories to make it feel homey. We were there 3 weeks before the ice maker finally worked. Had AC problems, fitness center issues (do you really need a sign that says "no spitting"?), the hall carpets were stained, and it was obvious that someone before us had smoked in the unit. It is safe and clean, and views can be terrific (except for the 3 cranes now surrounding the building due to construction), but we found this to be grossly overpriced and over-hyped. Although the fine staff mentioned in another review all of the additions they have made, they were made because things were not right. It was reactive maintenance. Be ready to wait several days or weeks for everything to be operable.

Good safe parking, but if you plan to have guests come during your visit, negotiate an additional space prior to their arrival.

Room Tip: Ask about construction, as it is happening on 3 sides of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Sales Manager at Viva Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your very detailed and extensive review of Viva Suites.

Through constructive critiques, such as this one, we are continually striving to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests, repeat and new.

The Viva Suites building was built in 1992 which is the reason our suites are so large, but this also means that there has been some wear and tear over the years. We are constantly upgrading furniture – such as couches, patio furniture, and fitness equipment – to ensure that our guests are happy and that Viva Suites feels like a home away from home. In fact, there was a new Elliptical and a new Treadmill installed in the Fitness Center during your stay.

While there is outside construction happening in our vicinity we are pleased that we are still located in a wonderful area surrounded by almost every service and as you mentioned we still enjoy some great views of False Creek and the city on one side and the mountains and peep view of the open ocean on the other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Viva Suites extensively, in particular at the larger 3 bedroom penthouse and the 4 bedroom presidential suites.

The former is $9000/month peak season and the latter is $12000.

Location

Viva suites are located in very handy area for the nightlife of Granville Street, a few minutes walk to all the shops on Davies, a handy aquabus ride over to Granville farmers market and about a 10 minute walk to Robson, with all the high end shopping.

Having said that, it is not 'high end' around the tower, and can be a little seedy at night, plus you can get the spill over noise on Friday and sat nights from Granville street, with plenty of police sirens going off until the small hours.

In addition, there is building work taking place on three sides of the building, so you can see cranes 'up close and personal' through most windows. This means there is quite a lot of construction noise (even on the higher floors) from 7:30 in the morning. Ultimately, this will also mean, I suspect, a loss of views as well, as the large apartment buildings rise up.

It is a 20 minute walk away from the financial district, so not so handy if you are working there.

Underground parking is handy and secure. General security is also very good.

Suites

A lot of area in the larger suites - i think the presidential is about 2900 sq ft and the penthouse about 2400.

The kitchens are reasonably well equipped - but the stoves/washing machines/dishwashers are all well past their best and in desperate need of renewal.

Value for Money

Although the suite 'space' is good , the general decor and furnishings definitely let it down, and is the main reason for my 'average' mark. Everything is getting pretty old and liable to break down at a moments notice. We had toilets that would not stop running, broken gas hob, air conditioning that was very temperamental in the summer and heating that was variable and noisy in the winter. Basically. all the units need refurbishing from top to bottom to justify the prices charged.

Staff

Staff are excellent. Maintenance staff do a sterling job against the onslaught of old appliances that break down. Cleaning twice a week is included and thorough. Reception staff and security are very good. I think the owners or upper management are lucky to have such good staff, when the re investment in the hotel is sorely lacking in other areas.

Overall

Ok to stay here if you can get a discount on the rack rates. To be fair, it can be hard to find serviced apartments in Vancouver at all, especially ones with a decent amount of living space,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Sales Coordinator at Viva Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of Viva Suites. We take all our guest comments to heart and are always working to surpass the expectations of all our guests, past and present and future.

We do take pride in the fact that we are located in a central area, just a short walk to the main downtown streets as mentioned Granville, Davie, and Robson, etc. with accessibility to the rest of the city by foot, car, or public transit. We would, however, like to apologize for the city noise. Unfortunately, the standard city noise is out of our hands as we are unable to control construction or the actions of others who occupy the city.

As for the concerns mentions about the décor, we are continuously working to replace older appliances and furniture with an upgraded version. We have recently added new items to our four bedroom suite including new patio furniture and cookware, as well as upgraded various pieces of equipment in the fitness center to make our guests more comfortable.

All of us here at Viva Suites are constantly striving to provide the highest quality in service to our guests and take all of our guest comments into serious consideration.

We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future, and once again we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Suites are massive and incredibly clean. Security guards are friendly & helpful. Location is good, just a few minutes walk to the beach. Will definitely stay again when we return to Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Sales Coordinator at Viva Suites, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for your review of Viva Suites! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property and you would choose to stay with us again. We wish you a pleasant journey home or wherever your next destination may be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I was very confortable here, the apartments were clean and well equipt. Great location with the added bonus of convenient parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara W, General Manager at Viva Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Viva Suites. I'm very happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here from Boxing Day until the day after New Years' Day and had a fantastic time!
There are so many accolades that I could give this property that I have to put them into categories.

*Location*
Viva Suites could not be better located for those who are on a vacation or working vacation (as we were). Although not "strictly" in the Vancouver financial district, it was conveniently located 1 blk away from Granville, Davie, and Burrard streets, and 2-3 blks away from the water.
Since we were in the heart of things, it was easy to walk everywhere. 10 mins to Extra Valu Foods, less to smaller grocers. 2 mins to private liquor store, or 10 mins to public one. 1 min (across street) to convenience store. If you're into shopping, Robson St is about a 7-10 min walk away. If you're into sports, BC Place is about 10+ mins walk.

*Security*
In addition to having a separate lobby and entrance for "residential" guests (the first 7 floors are businesses), the residential elevator had key control as well - we could only get to our own floor (and would assume guests on other floors could not access ours.
The parking also was really secure - important since downtown Vancouver parking garages are not known being security. There were *2* sets of secure doors to drive through, each a level between them - no one was going to get in (or out) unless they belonged there. There was also a security guard on duty in the evenings and into the morning.
Overall, Vancouver's westend is a very safe place, but these touches made it feel great!

*Service*
Everything was totally professional - from first contact through to all interactions with staff. We needed to have some printing done (yes, in 2011!), and the reception desk was more than happy to help! When we checked in, the reception was closed, but the security guard was fully prepared to check us in to our suite. Perfect!

*Suite*
Yes! The photos & floorplans on their website are accurate! The suites are enormous, well taken care of, fully stocked and clean. This was the FIRST place I've stayed that had more hangers in the closets than I needed - in the large bedroom closet, the 2m long hall closet, and the 1.5m long living area closet.
The kitchen was well appointed with excellent applicances - full stove, fridge, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, toaster and garburator. There was more than enough cutlery, cooking & serving utensils, cookware, dinnerware, and the list goes on!
The living area fireplace and heated marble floors throughout (except bedroom - carpeted) really made the place feel luxe. The dining table, 2 sofas, desk, and 2 side tables made sprawling out to work a breeze.
I could go on, but really, just look at the photos!

*Overall*
I would definitely stay again!
There are only a few things to keep in mind about the suite & property:
-The maid service is only once during the week (not an issue for us)
-The colour scheme is dated (but factored into the price)
-The welcome basket is a really nice touch! (I'd like to have the option of a more utilitarian welcome basket next time - coffee filters, laundry detergent, salt & pepper, etc.)

Have I mentioned that I'd stay again?

Room Tip: If you're spending little time in the room, get a smaller one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara W, General Manager at Viva Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for providing such an extensive review as we really appreciate the feedback. We are now looking into adding a few of the amenities you suggested to our welcome baskets as we think it would be of great help to include some of those necessities.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you agin in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Suites

Address: 1311 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2P3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva Tower is a long term stay facility in downtown Vancouver. It is centrally located close to Vancouver's Yaletown, Seawall, shops, theatres, nightclubs and restaurants. Viva tower offers fully equipped spacious suites with kitchens, en suite laundry, balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Viva offers our guests the convenience of an apartment with the added services of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Tingo so you can book your Viva Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.