We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavola

Tavola
1829 Robson St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1E4, Canada (Formerly Tapas) (Downtown)
(604) 606-4680
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 2,805 restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could not be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We like the staff and food so much that we ate there twice. Do get reservations. The provided blankets with outside seating in the evening is a nice touch.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    54
    28
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location and good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Located on the ground level of the Time's Square Suites it was our the perfect place for some tired travelers to have dinner. Friendly staff, stylish surroundings and good food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing...not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The food is divine, the service is so personable and friendly and the atmosphere is fun and great for groups. We died over the home made pasta and desserts, not to mention insanely moist brick chicken. Don't hesitate, just go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Does not live up to reviews”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The atmosphere was like a private club for hipsters rather than a serious restaurant. They say that they are "Italian" but there was not much that lived up to that title here. My husband was born and raised in Italy so he is understandably picky on this subject. The gnocchi, first off, was gooey and quite terrible. The pressed chicken was dry and the the seafood pasta we opted for as a replacement dish was not properly seasoned. It seems a lot of locals frequent this place as they receive a lot of attention from staff, whereas others seem to be ignored.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent from beginning to the end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you like casual Italian food fresh, all made in house and delicious, then you will love this warm, welcoming, friendly place. It was such a delight I went 2 nights in a row!

I have now tried their salad of wild greens roasted hazelnuts, robida goat cheese and apples with a tasty balsamic vinegar dressing- yum! Then I tasted a mixed platter of 3 different spreads on crostini; each one with their own distinct flavour. I also was impressed with the antipasto of fresh roasted veggies done to perfection. I just had to try the pasta so my friend and I shared the fresh made spaghetti with tomato sauce and the added touch of hot chilies was perfect.
I hope you get a chance to try this place; it's lively, delicious and fresh!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavola also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia

Been to Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.