We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Save Saved
You added SameSun Backpacker Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   1018 Granville St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean, central and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed here for just over a week whilst job and apartment hunting so I was happy that the hostel was clean, the staff were friendly, and the nightly specials in the Beaver aren't a bad way to eat after a day's sightseeing/walking. There are large lockers in all the rooms, just bring a lock, clean sheets and towels are also provided, and there are plenty of fridges in the large kitchen . Only downside is there's no elevator, so if you have a heavy suitcase like me, I hope you have muscles.
Great location on Granville Street, walking distance to shops, bars, Canada Place, Yaletown and Gastown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    165
    54
    13
    14
See reviews for
5
49
165
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hostel was in a great location, clean and with good facilities. Steph did a great job running the daily activities, they were so much fun, and a great way to meet new people! It was a super fun place to stay, nothing but good things to say :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is the best hostel that I have stayed at, and will certainly be staying here again if I return to Vancouver. Over the course of a month, I stayed here three separate times, the longest being a period of 10 days. I stayed in a room of four each time, and they are very clean and spacious with good sized lockers to store valuables and extra bags. The bathrooms are very clean, and they are cleaned twice per day. The common room is big with a pool table and an excellent place to drink and hang out with friends. The kitchen is great. Downstairs is The Beaver which was nightly dinner specials and drink specials which are very cheap. It has a great atmosphere and they regularly have activities on down there. The hostel also has daily activities, many of which are free. The staff are very helpful and nice. It is in a great location to nightclubs, eateries and pubs, while a bus can be caught to other main attractions. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Vancouver.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I was recommended to come here by a good friend who had previously. The first thing I noticed when I booked was they actually told you how to find them!!

I stayed in the 8 bed mixed dorm which, although slightly cramped, was clean and the lockers were great!

The staff were great also. There was a guy on the desk that was my food guru. He recommended some great places near by, never getting it wrong! Our outing guide Steph was awesome and great at getting everyone involved! She made herself approachable to everyone and gave a variety of options on our canyon walk.

On the whole the thing that topped it off was the quality of travelers that were attracted to samesun. Would recommend to anyone coming to Vancouver!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Pretty cool hostel..nice and clean. Felt really safe and it was in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The staff were really friendly and gave us many suggestions on what to do in Vancouver. The Beaver (restaurant) there had cheap drinks and food which was great. Rooms were a bit small but still okay. Overall I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great location near to pubs, restaurants and night life..Staff really friendly and helpefull. There is a bar downstairs which is great to get to know the others travellers and run a mak a little bit..The hostel itself is really clean.. Common area with pooltable was great too..
I recommened this hostel indeed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I actually really liked this hostel. I stayed in 6 bed dorm. There isn't anything too notable about the rooms, bathrooms were clean, they had washers and dryers which was plus, their common room was nice with a little movie room, kitchen, and a pool table. The hostel is attached to bar which has good beer on tap and an awesome $6 burger and beer special. The staff at the hostel and bar was very helpful and friendly.

I really liked the hostel's activities. Each day they go somewhere different with the a group which makes it a whole lot easier to meet people. Stephanie is the one who runs all of these activities and she was fun to hang out with.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SameSun Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Address: 1018 Granville St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Specialty lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SameSun Backpacker Lodge 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district . We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel!Clean, comfortable, safe and fun - SameSun Vancouver is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your SameSun Backpacker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SameSun Backpacker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.