We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay - ideal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SameSun Backpacker Lodge to your Saves list
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   1018 Granville St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Whistler, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Short stay - ideal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I arrived late on a Sunday evening and the friendly staff made it quick and easy to get into my room to recover from some serious jet-lag! Whilst waiting to be checked in, the atmosphere from the Beaver Bar was electric, with lots of happy guests enjoying the live music! Was in a shared room of 4, and my only problem with it was the mattress! Terribly uncomfortable, but I was only there for 2 nights so it was bearable. Would definitely consider visiting their other locations if I am ever in the respective cities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    210
    69
    18
    15
See reviews for
9
58
218
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Overall it was a good experience. The hostel bar and restaurant The Beaver was a good place for a meal and a couple beers, the free breakfast had really nice fresh bagels and muffins, and everyday there was a different activity like museum visits, city tours, etc. I only took part in one which was great fun, Stephanie took us on a really nice tour on Granville Island, a charming artsy neighborhood, including a tour of the local brewery!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm and it was QUITE cozy but totally fine for a hostel. The staff was super nice and the place was in a great location. It was ACTUALLY quiet after quiet hours (11pm) which was awesome, I actually slept. The free breakfast was fine but not a lot for a vegan.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is located in a superb location for exploring downtown Vancouver, but Granville Street itself is full of homeless, beggars and drug users - at times a little intimidating for some. The bar/restaurant downstairs is cool! Room was ok (I've stayed in some great hostels so far on the trip - these rooms are average). Unfortunately people give very little respect to the "quiet time" policy and the girl in the bunk below brought someone back which made for a rocky awakening! The next night wasn't much better and staff didn't really care. I checked out and moved elsewhere!! When later discussing with a friend from Vancouver, on mentioning the name she said "oh that's the real party hostel, you should have stayed across the road"!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hostel was by far the best i have ever been to. The staff was helpful in every way, the local pub/restaurant downstairs is a great way to make friends, beds were clean , power points were in good places, best location in Vancouver, it was just overall exceptional, honestly i cannot over state how good this was, everything was amazing. 100% recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

3 of us stayed here for 6 nights to explore Vancouver. Its in downtown which is a bit shady but also a great place to stay whilst exploring the city. The accommodation is relatively clean for a hostel and the rooms are good values for money. The bar is lively and great for meeting people and has good beer and cheap food served until late. We also went on the bar tour and the Granville island tour organised by Stephanie and really enjoyed them, they were just what we were looking for to find out more about the city.
I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Hey guys

This backpackers caters for everyone. Im a shy guy myself so heading to the beaver (the bar on bottom on building) wasnt something I was comfortable with (especially as im traveling alone).

However throughout the week they offer activities that anyone staying can join in on - such as a tour to Granville Island Market , night of bowling, and visiting the museums to name a few.


Staff such as Stephanie are ultra friendly and knowledgable and will tell you everything you need to know about getting around Van and all it has to offer.

Facilities were tops for a backpackers made even more so considering they include free breakfast.

All the best fellow travelers
Julian

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SameSun Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Address: 1018 Granville St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SameSun Backpacker Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district . We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel!Clean, comfortable, safe and fun - SameSun Vancouver is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your SameSun Backpacker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SameSun Backpacker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.