We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighbourhood Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siena

Siena
1485 West 12th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-558-1485
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Siena is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #361 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Granville
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Neighbourhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This cozy, unassuming neighbourhood restaurant has something for anyone who loves Italian cuisine. The antipasto platter has a good assortment of charcuterie, cheese (be sure to try the burrata) risotto balls and organic greens; perfect to share. The pastas are excellent; linguine vongole, spaghetti alla puttanesca, tagliatelle with meat sauce were standouts. The entrees change regularly. The wine list isn't complicated and offers a nice selection of whites and reds with prices to suit any budget.
The Stanley theatre around the corner so it can be busy before the show. Make a reservation for after 7:30 if you prefer a quieter experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pre show dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This restaurant is perfectly situated for pre show meals for the Stanley theatre, which is just round the corner. We did just this, and luckily we had pre booked, as the restaurant is extremely popular, especially on show nights, and was packed.
The food and service are both great, but receiving our meals was a little slow, however they did arrive in time for us to watch the show! :-)
Great menu, and good wine list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Theatre choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited this week before the Stanley theatre. Had bruschetta, carbonara and panna cotta for desert. Excellent food and great service. We have been many times over the past two years and never disappointed

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Siena Trattoria is my newest find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Right around the corner from the Stanley Theatre, this is the perfect place for a delicious dinner before going to see a live show. If you show your ticket you get a 15% discount. We lucked out getting a table at this intimate restaurant & next time will definitely have a reservation.There are daily specials but we selected the UBC Farm Autumn Greens salad & the very tasty scallops & shrimp risotto from the menu. The service was good (staff is very friendly). Please note that after 7:30 pm it is much easier to get a table or any night there is no show at the Stanley. On Mondays if you order a bottle of wine, it is half-price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing this time!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have been to Siena several times. It is perfectly located when attending the 8 pm performance at the Stanley Theatre. Unfortunately, on this particular occasion the food was not as good as usual and the service was slow. We did enjoy the antipasti for two as a first course. Everything was fresh and flavorful. Our main course was very disappointing - the Arctic Char was tasteless - served in a saffron broth with mussels and potatoes. The char is a very delicate fish and shouldn't be overshadowed by a "soup". Although, cooked to perfection, it was devoid of flavor and I actually had to ask for salt (there was none on the table and I'm sure I was viewed as a heathen for requesting it!) They did not have enough servers for the packed room. We will probably return - although West is across the street and it is one of my favorite restaurants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siena also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.