We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUNCH!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suika Snackbar

Suika Snackbar
1626 West Broadway, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-730-1678
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“LUNCH!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I really recommend here for lunch!
I love their Hamberg stake in lunch menu!!
And Yukimidaifuku for dessert :)
I've been for dinner but it's noisy so i prefer go here for lunch.
But you better make reservation even for lunch!!!!
I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Inventive Japanese cuisine great for a fun get together.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My friends took my wife and I here 10 at night and we just ordered and ordered from the menu. Everything was great you can't go wrong. From sushi to braised beef to earl grey Creme Burle, everything was fantastic.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good food and a bit of a different twist on Japanese cuisine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

A good meal at a good price. Yes it was loud and the building not so interesting but the service was solid and the meals were a departure from the norm in a good way.
I would come back here again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and fast excellent friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We love the food here. We don't make reservations because we go early 6:00 pm. The staff are really friendly and they are fast. The pork belly rice is delicious and tuna tataki perfect the ramen is also delicious! Can't go wrong. If its later in the evening it can get loud because every seat is taken but earlier its not bad at all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“You know a Japanese restaurant is good if it's full of Japanese diners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

One of the first thing that strikes you about Suika is how very Japanese it feels - ven though the food isn't what you might automatically associate with Japan. And the clientele are mostly Japanese, which is a recommendation in itself.

Suika is an izakaya, so it serves a lot of fried food - meats and fish - along with miso soup, rice and salad. There's also a range of very good side dishes (try the lotus root) and interesting desserts. The staff are lively (they all yell 'Irrashaimase' when you come in) and attentive; there's a busy but friendly atmosphere. The food is very good, but not overly fancy. The menu is covered in cute Super Mario characters and casual, handwritten-style fonts and kana, and is a little difficult to navigate to begin with, but fun.

I had the Hellz Chicken set, so I can tell you that when they say it's really spicy, they're not kidding. I just about enjoyed it!! The salad and rice are lovely, and helped cool my mouth down. It also gave me an excuse for dessert: Earl Grey creme brulee, which was delicate and delicious, but not very big. My companion had the green tea creme brulee, which was actually matcha flavour, and not my cup of tea if you'll pardon the pun.

I would probably give Suika five stars if it were a little cheaper; it's not crazy expensive but it's not fabulous value either.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suika Snackbar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Suika Snackbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suika Snackbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.