We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Dinner with Friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Nuba

Cafe Nuba
146 East 3rd Ave., Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 1C8, Canada
(604) 568-6727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,506 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Casual Dinner with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I recently enjoyed dinner here with friends on a Saturday night. This location is small and casual which I personally love. No reservations so you may want to get there a bit early, it's a busy place. The food is yummy and there are lots of vegetarian options. Service was friendly and the prices are great. I will definitely eat here again and try the other locations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Cold pita and tiny baklava”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We heard fabulous things about Nuba, and had just returned from London where we had reasonably priced, fabulous Lebanese food in Kensington. Maybe our expectations were too high. Usually baklava is dripping in honey. But I wouldn't have thought we were served baklava except the waitress told us it was. We shared plates with friends, and were generally happy: chicken souvlaki, cauliflower, humus, eggplant, fried cheese and falafel. The staff was great, good wine list, but we were disappointed in the food because of having such better experiences elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Consistently good food, good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Have been to this Nuba 3 times now, for lunch. The location is much better than Seymour for parking (also close to Skytrain/bus), and the Waldorf location isn't open for lunch, so this is the default. It's quite busy at peak times, but there is fairly fast turnover so today we didn't have to wait for a table. It clears out shortly after about 1:15 or 1:30.

Service is decent considering how busy it is. Water is mildly flavoured with cucumber, nice and refreshing. They also have a liquor license now, if that is important to you.

Lots and lots of veg options, including a red lentil soup (always on the menu) and a daily vegan soup. Today it was vegan cream of cauliflower, quite nice. In the past I ordered the vegan stew which was not exactly what I expected. The Najib's special (roasted cauliflower) is always good. I have to remember to tell them not to add oil to the hummus! Falafel is also tasty. Next, I want to try the lentils. They do have meat offerings for omnivores.

Dessert options are somewhat limited (mostly baklava, 3 flavours). I had a decaf Americano which was excellent!

The online menu lists the choices as vegan or vegetarian, but the hard-copy menu in the restaurant doesn't.

Prices are reasonable, and plate sizes are generous. Lots of pita with the meal.

The decor is fairly basic but that's ok; this place is unpretentious. I was greeted at the door by a man who was obviously the manager or owner, very friendly.

Free street parking, although you may have to walk a block or two. Will definitely return soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise on E 3rd Ave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

For fun, a Tuesday night, we decided to try Nuba on East 3rd Ave, close to Main St. It was full! Nice and tandy place, nice decoration and the food, wow! Fresh, tasty, well spiced, good variety, and the service was also very good! It's a very good place!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Nuba also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cafe Nuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Nuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.