We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dim sum and very unexpensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Town Bakery & Restaurant

New Town Bakery & Restaurant
148 East Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #275 of 2,842 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Hialeah, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good dim sum and very unexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This Chinese bakery and restaurant offers a great variety of dim sums in addition to the traditional well-known Chinese dishes. The prices are incredible inexpensive and the place is very clean.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a fantastic, authentic place. Excellent take out and dine-in be it for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Delicious congee, buns, shrimp wraps, and much more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Chinese bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It is crowded and you had to take a number...also cash only, but it was well worth it. Awesome coconut buns! I also has the sesame balls and there were good too. I know this will be a place we go every time we are in Vancouver.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great chinese pastries.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The New Town Bakery is a must stop when ever we are in Vancouver. They have a great selection of Chinese baked and steamed treats. Many of these treats are the sweet staples of dim sum. The quality is excellent, some of the best I have had anywhere. My favorite is the sesame balls filled with red bean paste (chin tui). Also good are the egg tarts, and steamed bau. I have never eaten at the restaurant, so no recommendation for that part. These pastries are best served in the mornings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great bakery, poor restaurant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had my first ever steamed veggie bun here and it was delicious. I even came back to get another one the next day and sat down in the restaurant to eat. It is a pretty hectic place with a not very flattering inside, but that always has its charm too! However, the food was disappointing. Choosing from a vast amount of courses, I had the Buddha Vegetable and it was mostly slimey even if the taste was not too bad. Price wise the pastries and buns are cheap for what you get but the food is the other way around!

If I were to go here again, I would stay within the bakery section and get a few items to go, not eat in. It is definitely worth a visit to see all the chinese delicacies and try one of the buns (open up the top and pour some soy sauce in there before you leave, it is great).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Town Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to New Town Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Town Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.