We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little tacos, big taste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taqueria

La Taqueria
322 W. Hastings, Vancouver, British Columbia V8B 1K6, Canada
604.568.4406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 3,035 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Description: Offering authentic Mexican tacos in the heart of Downtown Vancouver.We make our tacos from traditional recipes with local, organic and sustainable products, when possible.Our menu offers different types of fillings which can be served as a Taco (soft tortilla, made locally) or as a Quesadilla.La Taqueria is born in 2009, through the idea of creating a pinche taco stand, which resemble the taste and feel of street tacos around Mexico. These tacos are usually the best and are often referred to as pinche tacos.Both locations are open 11am to 8:30pm Monday to Saturday. Closed Sunday.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“little tacos, big taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

this place is authentic, busy, and really addictive. If the green chicken mole is a special, get it! there are vegetarian choices, but also interesting things like tongue and cheek (ha) which shouldn't scare you because they are so tender, perfectly spiced. Mexican sodas and beers like negro modelo and the guys behind the counter are soooo sweet. Closes early so dont picture lingering, but the colourful little room is a great place to eat something great, quickly and easily. Note: NOT for people who are used to a giant presto-log burrito - vulgar bean and rice loaded belly bloater.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“So welcoming place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went two times at La Taqueria, on Hastings St, Vancouver. I just can say it's very busy place, food is very good and servers, cashiers, etc. are so kind. I tried also the one on Broadway St at Cambie St, and I prefer on Hastings. Food is better and the ambiance as well, even it's a whole in the wall. Try to be there before noon, during the week, if you want to have a little place.

Bravo! I like La Taqueria!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife is Mexican, so I can safely say that these are the best tacos in Vancity. Good flavors, traditional cuts, friendly service too. Great little taco stand/hole in the wall. Highly recommended for a quick bite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Would try again, better luck next time?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My colleagues ordered for lunch and bought it back to the office. I just had 2 tacos; the tongue and the cheek. Perhaps I should have stuck with more conventional cuts, as I wasn't super impressed with them. I also didn't realise how tiny they are, no wonder they are so cheap! 2 bites and it's gone.. good job I wasn't that hungry anyway. Some nice flavours but just too small and not that amazing. At least they are very good value for money and perhaps if I order a different choice in the shop next time they will be nicer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“super yum, super reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

They have 2 locations, serve very similar food, but teh one on Cambie is a little bigger. The food is seriously so delicious. I always get the 4 taco special and mix and match. The fish is usually my favorite, but the pork ones are also good. I think the grand total is about $10 and you will be full. mmm my mouth is watering just thinking about it. Oh, and the staff are always so friendly and smiley. I love these places.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taqueria also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to La Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.