We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thierry

Thierry
1059 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1A1, Canada (Downtown)
(604) 608-6870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 2,804 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Their apricot danish and their croissants are to die for. The pastries are also really good. Although we had promised ourselves that we won't repeat a restaurant on our trip, we had to go back to Thierry cause once just wasn't enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best cafe in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I am going to this cafe almost every week. They have one of the best deserts in Vancouver with reasonable pricing. If you want to take someone for the first date it is a place to go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Cakes & Macarons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

What a great cafe on Alberni Street, probably some of the best and most flavourful macarons and cakes we've tried. We picked up a box of 7 macarons (tried all the flavours...but our faves were: raspberry, mint, orange, and cassis), an individual Passionfruit cake, and an individual Chocolate Trio cake. All simply divine, fresh and tasty. The atmosphere was nice, and the staff were very attentive and helpful. We will definitely be back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absurdly Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The very best liquid chocolate we have ever had. We were there during the hot chocolate festival and this place was hands down the best in the city, maybe even North America. Tried the Kayambe 72%, Basque chilli, house blend, a custom combo of dark chocolate with hazelnut and the festival feature "ONE IN A MILLION". We were there 4 days and at Thierry's twice a day! The tiramisu was fabulous!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Saturday afternoon coffee and snack”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A very nice location with outdoor seating - great in good weather and just to people watch. The service and selection of desserts were great, not overly sweet but just right flavoring and sweetness. Staff were friendly and though it was busy got the orders right as they were preparing orders for pick up and eating in. Good quality coffee and tea also.
Only downside was a customer came in carrying a dog! it's tail wagging all over the place and contacting the packaged cookies etc. ..... it put a few people off. The server did remind the customer politely that no dogs are allowed (should go without saying where food is being served). But he allowed her to stay and advised her for the next time. If the customer had been ahead of us i would have walked out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thierry also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Thierry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thierry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.