We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Judas Goat Taberna - CLOSED

Judas Goat Taberna
27 Blood Alley, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Alley between Carrall and Abbott
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Don’t let the short walk down the alley keep you from this fun and funky eatery. We didn’t have reservations, but went early enough they were able to accommodate us. And we are so glad they could. The wine list is varied and appears to have something for everyone; we decided to let our waiter direct our choices to go with the plates we wanted to try. We started with Kalamata & Sundried Olive Tapenade and a bright river stone Albarino for me, my husband asked for a red and was delighted with the Garnacha. We snacked on Crispy Chickpea while we waited on the Goat Cheese and Beet Salad (YUM, I loved this dish), we rounded out the evening with some of the heartier plates; Pork Belly with Quails egg & Mushroom Ketchup and Albacore Tuna, Lime, Cilantro, Coconut Ceviche. What an adventure for our taste buds and the cozy eatery gives you the opportunity to make new friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is awesome! It's smaller than I expected but the group I was here with all fit comfortably and we had a great time! I personally really like the food and wine pairings (Dine Out Vancouver menu) and as far as I know so did everyone else. The waitress was lovely and despite the size, the place has a lot of character! The only downside is the lack of coffee or tea options for after dinner.
All in all a great experience and I will be back soon to try out the regular menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not sure what I'm missing....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked a table here for Dine Out Vancouver so my review on the food is obviously only based on what was on the fixed menu. It was...average. The restaurant location is very cool, the restaurant itself is small and cozy yet it works and you don't 'feel' the smallness. Our waitress was great. The food, again, was okay. One of the desserts was almost tasteless and unedible (rice pudding...which was more like a solid mass of white glue). My husband had the trout for his main (dry). There is beer and wine..no other alcohol and no coffee, tea, etc. The menu, truly is cold...which is noted by the lack of kitchen. There is no stove. I'm not really sure if the food is premade and reheated for the few hot options, but for the $$, I've eaten at better. Now saying all of this, I should likely try the place on a NON Dine Out night and check out their regular menu, but if this was our taste of things to come there, I'd likely not be racing back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A late night casual dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After spending the day wandering Vancouver, and then going to see the Capilano Xmas lights, headed down to dinner, at Judas Goat - a slightly quirky, tapas influenced small plates bar. Fun for a intimate dinner, or just a drink and the chance to try a few different meals

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great small place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had dinner with a friend a few nights ago. The food was absolutely excellent - the tapas were better than anything we had in all of Spain earlier this year. The food is creatively prepared, the service was impeccable (ok, we were the only ones in the restaurant that night), and our server knew her food and wine inside out and made great recommendations. The potato chip & brandade appetizer is a must have! I highly recommend this small place - I hope it's here for the long run.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Judas Goat Taberna also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Judas Goat Taberna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.