We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Judas Goat Taberna - CLOSED

Judas Goat Taberna
27 Blood Alley, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Alley between Carrall and Abbott
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is awesome! It's smaller than I expected but the group I was here with all fit comfortably and we had a great time! I personally really like the food and wine pairings (Dine Out Vancouver menu) and as far as I know so did everyone else. The waitress was lovely and despite the size, the place has a lot of character! The only downside is the lack of coffee or tea options for after dinner.
All in all a great experience and I will be back soon to try out the regular menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not sure what I'm missing....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked a table here for Dine Out Vancouver so my review on the food is obviously only based on what was on the fixed menu. It was...average. The restaurant location is very cool, the restaurant itself is small and cozy yet it works and you don't 'feel' the smallness. Our waitress was great. The food, again, was okay. One of the desserts was almost tasteless and unedible (rice pudding...which was more like a solid mass of white glue). My husband had the trout for his main (dry). There is beer and wine..no other alcohol and no coffee, tea, etc. The menu, truly is cold...which is noted by the lack of kitchen. There is no stove. I'm not really sure if the food is premade and reheated for the few hot options, but for the $$, I've eaten at better. Now saying all of this, I should likely try the place on a NON Dine Out night and check out their regular menu, but if this was our taste of things to come there, I'd likely not be racing back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A late night casual dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After spending the day wandering Vancouver, and then going to see the Capilano Xmas lights, headed down to dinner, at Judas Goat - a slightly quirky, tapas influenced small plates bar. Fun for a intimate dinner, or just a drink and the chance to try a few different meals

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great small place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had dinner with a friend a few nights ago. The food was absolutely excellent - the tapas were better than anything we had in all of Spain earlier this year. The food is creatively prepared, the service was impeccable (ok, we were the only ones in the restaurant that night), and our server knew her food and wine inside out and made great recommendations. The potato chip & brandade appetizer is a must have! I highly recommend this small place - I hope it's here for the long run.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great "small" place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I really liked the food at Judas Goat Taberna. Granted, the plates are small; the restaurant is very small; the tables are small and tall like bar tables. But the food is really really good. I hope this Blood Alley venue finds its niche and is able to survive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Judas Goat Taberna also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Judas Goat Taberna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.