We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mo-Mo Sushi House

Mo-Mo Sushi House
833 Bidwell Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-569-2001 ‎
Update restaurant details
Ranked #150 of 2,715 restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Sushi
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We found this place as we were looking for a Japanese restaurant nearby our hotel in Gastown. We had already been to Guu which is right next door. We didn't have high expectations but were pleasantly surprised at the taste and value. We had a comparable meal at Mo-Mo to Guu at a lesser price. The cuts of fish on the sushi were some of the largest I've ever seen and the salmon nigiri was probably the best I ever tasted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    16
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always great sushi, best value and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

There are 3 Momo Sushi places in Vancouver.
I tried 2: Denman St. and Bidwell St.
The one on Denman is more restaurant style with decor and plenty space to stay for a dinner.
Momo on Bidwell is tiny, very basic, with reduced menu, but even cheaper prices.
Service is friendly, not exceptional, but never had a reason to complain - everybody is smiling and serving pretty fast with compliments of miso and salad/chef sushi piece before they bring you the order.

Portions are big and cheap with great taste and quality of food.

I like their "Jesus loves you" motto that they have on uniform and each set of chopsticks - first looked weird to find in Japanese restaurant, but its memorable and now creates positive emotions, especially combined with yammy food.

Definitely recommend both places and will come back again and again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food is great.the prices are really decent.the service is a bit slow and not very friendly and polite but who cares when food is so tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best value in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is the only place I visit at least twice a week! The food is fresh and tasty. Portion is big. Price is cheap. This location does not have a lot of tables for dinning in; but it is cozy...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Religion pushed on customers.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Ok so the food: it's ok. Average. Cheap. Service is poor to average. What makes me NEVER want to come back is the weird religious agenda being pushed on customers. Chopstick covers all have a religious message on them and there's bible verse on the bathroom wall. I respect anyone's right to believe what they want, but don't push them on me. I'm there to eat sushi not to be preached at.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo-Mo Sushi House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Mo-Mo Sushi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mo-Mo Sushi House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.