We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Vancouver Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Vancouver Hotel to your Saves list
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   837 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1B6 , Canada (Formerly The Hotel at Terminal City Club)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Ontario
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location - Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is an older style hotel with very clean and very comfortable small rooms. Each room had a kitchenette with a fridge and microwav, Kuerig coffee maker but no minibar and no pop machine in the building. Staff is friendly and helpful. My group of 3 people in 3 different rooms had a tour by the concierge. We used the pool, hot tub and change room. All were very clean and well stocked with towels and other toiletries you may require after using the facilities. One in our group used the exercise room and found the equipment to be in good working order. We had breakfast each morning in the hotel restaurant which had fast efficient service. The food and coffee were both good. Hotel location is great - close to Canada Line subway, waterfront and many restaurants all in walking distance. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    75
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
35
105
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Was in Vancouver on business and this place was right on the "Canada Line" transit (2 blocks away). It has a Starbucks across the street and is in a nice safe area. IT is close to the docks as well. Three of us had three different rooms. I had a very good one hour cardio and one hour weights workout in a reasonably-sized gym with staff that were friendly but didn't butt in. Room service was very good and delivered promptly and hot. All in all for business right downtown it was very good. There is a DRESS code for parts of this former Gentleman's club. Fine by me but be aware of it.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms ending in 008 if you can they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear bobwoodcco,

Thank you for your review.

We certainly are perfectly located in the Financial District and very close to the Canada Line, as you indicated.

I am so pleased you had a chance to use the fitness centre. Another time, if you stay with us on a Thursday evening, this is our squash night and guests are welcome (just in case you are a squash player). The equipment is fairly new in the gym and there is 5000 sq.ft. of cardio space. As we are now coming into Summer (fingers crossed), our members and guests enjoy lounging out on the deck after a workout. With the view over the water and a smoothie in hand, it is perfect. I do hope you stay with us again and can experience this aspect of the fitness centre.

During Summer months, we actually relax the 'smart casual' dress code to allow for 'nice' jeans :)

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review. It is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,
Noni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Was in the city for a conference and elected not to stay at the convention hotels to get away from the crowds. Location was perfect right downtown, room had a great view with very large windows. Smaller hotel that offered great service and a real personal touch. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a great hotel! The room was small (reminds me of rooms in Europe) but very clean. The room had a small kitchenette and a good selection of cable channels. The lobby area is just immaculate. I found the staff to be very courteous and professional. We arrived at 10:30AM and they let us check in! It's located right in the middle of town so it's convenient to walk to a lot of attractions: Gastown, the waterfront, Chinatown, and Vancouver Lookout to name a few. We arrived by cruise ship and walked 3 blocks to the hotel! For those that need a coffee fix, there's a Starbucks across the street. It's worth the stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

As you might know everything is wakable in vancouver , but this erea is better because it is close to the water and on top the have one off the greatest lap pool i have seen ! Deffinetly would go back to the terminal city club .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel has a great location in downtown Vancouver . Minutes walking distance to Gastown,Canaad Place and many others.The restaurant 1892 is excellent food for dinner. No notebooks or jeans allowed, not sure why, but cell phones are ok. For breakfast the Grille, no cellphones but a great selection and quality for food just like 1892. Overall the place is perfect.
Rooms are large , clean and well appointed. Hallways are narrow and windy getting to the room.
Overall great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Senator76,

Thank you for posting your review.

1892 is our Signature Restaurant and the food presentation, service and quality are superior. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. As the hotel allows the guest access to the private members club, you are actually experiencing the club. In 1892, the dress code is 'smart casual' and is a 'conversation only' room. You are quite right - no paperwork or jeans are allowed. However, as it has taken me awhile to get back to you and we are now in Summer, we have relaxed the dress code for Summer to allow for nice jeans. We allow cell phones, but only to text or email, there is no speaking on a cell phone allowed inside the club area.
You will be pleased to know that during the Summer Season, we have the large outdoor patio open off The Grill Restaurant, which is spectacular and captures views of the water, North Shore mountains and more often than not, a glimpse of a large cruise ship docked at Canada Place.
Thank you again for your wonderful comments. I do hope we can welcome you back to Terminal City Club.

Kind regards,
Noni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed three nights and enjoyed the experience overall. Excellent fitness room and pool with a full time attendant. I felt very safe and looked after which, for a solo woman business traveler, is not always delivered.The food was the only disappointment - OK but not a good value for Vancouver.
Service was attentive and friendly. I tried to get a smaller pillow - for some reason my bed was equipped with gigantic pillows but no other options were available and I was too busy to buy one at the nearby department stores.
Location is fantatstic - close to business centre, shopping and the harbour terminals.
I would recommend this hotel to any business traveler.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear PR4Science,

Thank you so much for your review. It does assist us to make adjustments. We will table comfort at our next Rooms meeting and include 'pillow talk' :)

I have mentioned our Security before, but this is one of the reasons it is there. Our 24hr. Security gives you a comfort level to know that the doors and elevators are monitored. Security also roams the parking garage and floor levels to ensure safety. On the Fitness level, we do have a team of attendants to attend to our guests needs and safety.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Noni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Vancouver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Vancouver Hotel

Address: 837 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1B6 , Canada (Formerly The Hotel at Terminal City Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Vancouver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of downtown, just steps away from the Waterfront, Auberge Vancouver (formerly The Terminal City Club Hotel) is a luxury boutique hotel situated in a vibrant, urban environment. Surrounded by fine restaurants, unique shops and contemporary galleries, we hope to provide a truly memorable experience for the discerning leisure and business traveller alike, in an exceptional setting. A stunning view of the water, impeccable service, deluxe amenities and of course, elegant and spacious accommodations are only a few of the features that make Auberge Vancouver so exceptional. This truly unique property exudes quiet sophistication, yet it is a modern oasis. Our commitment is to ensure that you will enjoy an unforgettable stay. Come and be our guest; an unparalleled experience is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge Vancouver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminal City Hotel
Terminal City Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Vancouver Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.