We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Roof is Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black + Blue

Black + Blue
1032 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1A3, Canada (Downtown)
604.637.0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black + Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $41
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard
Description: The magic of a classic steakhouse, but with a decidedly contemporary twist. In-house aged rare cuts of beef, tableside Caesar salads, flambes, flaming coffees, and more. While he may find it familiar, it's definitely not your Daddy's steak house!
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Roof is Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I am very fond of this restaurant but the opening of The Roof has just taken it to a whole new level. Even if it sunny outside, I would recommend a meal on The Roof. Looking forward to going there for brunch sometime soon.
Our waitress Breann was fantastic!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I'm so glad you had the chance to check out The Roof! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    145
    72
    45
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Dining, Deftly Delivered and Duly Devoured”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a terrific "classy dining" experience at Black and Blue. The service, setting, food, and drinks were all magnificent. The service by our waiter (Jeff), in particular, was excellent. he was extremely helpful, put as at our ease, made excellent menu suggestions, and was always on the spot to top off our glasses of sangria (the white is particularly good). The restaurant itself is very impressive - multi-level with an open design on the interior, an enormous visible meat locker (a win by anyone's standards, surely), and a rooftop with a view of the Vancouver and Shangri La Hotels reflecting the westerly evening light. Our only gripe was thus: the rooftop bathrooms were in a high-traffic area, and did not seem to meet the same level of decor as the rest of the restaurant. But all in all, a completely successful evening - we had a great time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Wonderful! I have passed on your kind words to Jeff & the team at Black+Blue. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Love the Roof”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Great meal on the roof. Lively atmosphere, good food, fun staff. It is somewhat loud, though, so don't go for a romantic meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Great to hear! Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida, United States
1 review
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The restaurant was recommended by our hotel concierge. The atmosphere had energy. By the same token, it was easy to have quiet conversations. There were 4 of us and we all had something different. Everyone really liked their appetizers, entrees and desserts' Our waiter, Jeff, was terrific. I can heartily recommend it. Alex Nicholas . .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I'm so glad you were able to join us while visiting Vancouver! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere - Great Food - Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We loved the trendy atmosphere. There was music at a nice level, but you could hear a conversation. The server was very good, always tended to your needs without being intrusive. Best steaks I have ever tasted!! The beef literally melted in your mouth!! The veggies were cooked to perfection as well. We shared the stuffed mushroom appetizer and it was really different, but tasty. The 22 layer chocolate layer cake - yep it was 22 layers, was simply decadent and light at the same time. The pastry chef was ill and not in, so crepes suzettes were not available - my only regret. Having said that we had a great time and will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We look forward to having you in again soon for those Crepes. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black + Blue also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Black + Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black + Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.