We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black + Blue

Black + Blue
1032 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1A3, Canada (Downtown)
604.637.0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black + Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 2,802 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard
Description: The magic of a classic steakhouse, but with a decidedly contemporary twist. In-house aged rare cuts of beef, tableside Caesar salads, flambes, flaming coffees, and more. While he may find it familiar, it's definitely not your Daddy's steak house!
Springville,TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had some of the best steaks that we ever had. The service was great they keeped a eye on you incase you needed anything, the appetizers were great and they all came at the same time, the steaks were some of the best. The cost was on the high side but weel worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
That's what we like to hear! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    152
    86
    48
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
239 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best steak in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The steaks served at Black and Blue are recommended. A great choice of classic cuts prepared to requested perfection. The only comment was the timing of the appetizers. Half our the party had to wait considerably before every one had been served.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your meals with us! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had the pleasure of dining in the rooftop section, which is a must! My steak was cooked perfectly. The spinach dip was fantastic and plenty for several to share. I ate at the bar and had a great conversation with several of the cooks who were very friendly. One of my better solo dining experiences ever.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
I'm glad to hear you had a chance to check out The Roof! We look forward to welcoming you back in again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Here's the beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This place has the beef but the service was a little lacking. Our table was located on the second floor overlooking the bar downstairs. Everything was going great until a group of six was seated next to us. When one of the other group announces the was going to get pass-out drunk we knew we were in trouble.
That's another story. The service was slow, the food good, great presentation. Probably the best part was the Caesar salad made fresh at our table. It was excellent!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi there! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us! Apologies for the slower service - if you did not have a chance to speak with a manager please email your feedback to marketing@glowbalgroup.com. We look forward to serving you again soon...we will have our Caesar Salad cart ready! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Dined here on a quick visit to Vancouver. This can best be described as an old style steakhouse with meat on display.

We started with some cocktails, the peroni on tap was very good and cold. We moved onto a nice bottle of red selected with a recommendation from the wine steward.

Started off with the beef carpacio which was excellent. Wife had the Tuna screamer which was excellent as well. We ordered a few extra prawns as appetizer for good measure.

Had the PEI Blue Ribbon New York Stiploin and it was cooked to perfection. Taste was amazing from these farm raised PEI cattle.

Wife had the Steak Oscar and raved about the seafood and sauce.

Wait staff was excellent and did not rush us at all which was great. Even brought us a complimentary desert, which we didn't really need but it was fantastic as well.

Would definitely dine at this restaurant when in Vancouver and recomment you ask for Chris the waiter who did an excellent job.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I have passed on your kind words to Chris and the team at Black+Blue. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black + Blue also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Black + Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black + Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.