We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black + Blue

Black + Blue
1032 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1A3, Canada (Downtown)
604.637.0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black + Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 3,035 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $41
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard
Description: The magic of a classic steakhouse, but with a decidedly contemporary twist. In-house aged rare cuts of beef, tableside Caesar salads, flambes, flaming coffees, and more. While he may find it familiar, it's definitely not your Daddy's steak house!
Olympia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The focus of Black and Blue is steak: you can see the meat aging in a large case walled with lovely Himalayan salt blocks. The atmosphere is elegant and cozy, both up- and downstairs. The food is very good, not quite "excellent." It's also overpriced. The best part of our meal was the wonderful service by a charming and handsome waiter named Chris.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for your review - I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Black+Blue. Chris is certainly one of the best and I will pass on your kind words! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    145
    72
    45
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had a good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I went the day before the removal of my wisdom teeth. The place is pretty nice and the food were good. There were many things that i would like to try but i cant take that many food with my gf. Our server was Chris, and he was funny and very helpful on our decision on the food and drinks. It would be a good place for gathering, and u can sit at the booth if u have more ppl. overall experience was good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
The perfect meal before getting wisdom teeth taken out! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Black+Blue and I will pass on your kind words to Chris. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The place is owned by a corporation that owns other restaurants on the area - some good, some not. The steak I had was overdone, but not horrible. The side of mashed was excellent, but still mashed potatoes is not a huge triumph. The atmosphere is the true strength here.

It is ok to try but not the best steak in town.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal here as much as you did COAST. We would love to have you join us again so that we can change your mind about the best steak in town:) I'd be happy to assist in any of your future reservations - please feel free to email us directly at marketing@glowbalgroup.com. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brian & Peter & Daniel were amazing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Service and food was absolutely amazing. The best 30th birthday dinner I can ever ask for !!!!!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Happy belated birthday!! So glad to hear you enjoyed your 30th with us and I will definitely pass on your kind words to Brian, Peter & Daniel. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Attentive service, but a little slow on the delivery. Or was I just very hungry. Excellent steak and great baked potato. House red was ok. Would go back for special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hi Paul. Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Black+Blue is a great place to come when you are hungry! We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black + Blue also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Black + Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black + Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.