We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On time, clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BC Ferries

BC Ferries
BC Ferries Vacations Centre | at the Fairmont Pacific Rim 1010 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
+1 (0) 250 386 3431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 197 Activities in Vancouver
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“On time, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our first time on the ferry, clean comfortable and the restaurant on board does a magnificent job in feeding the huge number of passengers. We spotted killer whales. - a bonus!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Care Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing your positive review of our services. We are glad that your first ferry trip with us was an enjoyable one and even included an Orca Whale spotting! Providing clean, safe and reliable service is among our top priorities – and efficiently feeding hundreds of people a day onboard our vessels of course!

Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you onboard again in the future.

Kind regards,

Justine
BC Ferries – Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    103
    58
    23
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A comfortable way to travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I took the ferry twice, from Vancouver to Victoria and back, two days later. I was concerned about becoming seasick on the ferry and so I made sure to get a prescription for a patch from my doctor. I get seasick very easily - sometimes even walking on a dock can trigger it - so I did not want to take chances on a 1 1/2 hour ride. I was glad that I wore the patch, as when the ferry turns, it banks to the side a bit. The ride itself was calm.
You begin the trip at the Vancouver bus terminal, which is a beautiful, well kept building. I did not check out the restroom, but the rest of the interior was very nice. We bought our tickets, which included the bus to the ferry, and the ferry ride to the other side, and then the bus ride to the destination terminal. The ticket price was $110 per person. Our luggage was loaded onto the bus for the duration of the ride. The bus ride to the terminal takes approximately 40 minutes on each side. Basically, the entire trip takes over three hours. When we got to the ferry terminal, the bus drove into the belly of the ferry and parked along with other buses and trucks. We then disembarked and climbed stairs to the upper decks for the ferry ride. Here is where it pays to know what you are doing - we were almost trampled by several bus loads of tourists who knew where they wanted to sit and wanted to make sure they got there. They were mostly headed to deck 5, where the shops and restaurant and coffee shop are. Deck 5 has viewing closest to the water. Deck 6 has an outside deck as well as inside. There is enough room for everyone - even if you don't run to get there!
The bus terminal in Victoria was not well kept. In fact, it could have used a good scrubbing. It is located just behind the Empress hotel. There were ads saying that starting in October reservations would be needed for the ferry which wasn't necessary when we were there.
Overall, traveling by ferry was one of the highlights of the trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Care Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your thoughtful review. We are glad to hear that you found the bus service to and from our ferry terminals, as well as onboard the vessel, a great way to travel between Vancouver and Victoria. We hope that you and your husband were able to enjoy the amenities onboard the ferry and found nice seats to relax in and enjoy the sailings.

Thanks for travelling with us and we look forward to welcoming you onboard again soon.

Kind regards,

Justine
BC Ferries – Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Vancouver- Nanaimo Return Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family went from Vancouver to Nanaimo and Back to Vancouver.
The Ferries are great for a family. The Price though was over $100 each way!! That is Kind of High Priced, I have even looked at flights and It is pretty close to the same price!
But, I will keep going on the ferries because it is so much fun to go on.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Care Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our services. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoy taking the ferries to visit beautiful Vancouver Island!

We appreciate that the current status of the economy has customers watching their finances very closely. Please be assured that our financial decisions are not meant to cause hardship to our customers, but to ensure a safe and reliable service for many years to come. Fares are regulated by the BC Ferry Commission, who work directly with the Provincial Government to regulate service levels and fares.

Your continued patronage is very much appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family onboard again soon!

Kind regards,
Justine
BC Ferries – Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High view a sliding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I have ridden with BC Ferries about 12 times a year since I was born (23 years ago) and can say, yes the ships are comfortable and clean BUT about 10 years ago to now its going down hill. Their reservation system is a joke, you reserve to save a spot on the ferry so when you're late you're safe... NOT TRUE, for $17 on top of the outrageous base price in BC Ferries eyes you must be there 30 minutes or more to keep it or someone else gets it with no refund and no further help. That's not right. They rarely leave on time and they never take blame for being late but they know they're your only choice so thats you're problem. Its no longer economical for an average family to use them, which is why I must slow my ridership and find alternatives. (Flying is almost cheaper and is half the time)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Care Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry to hear that you have been left with a negative impression of our services after having travelled with us for many years.

Reservations are an option we offer customers who wish to be guaranteed on a specific sailing. The cut-off time for reservations is extremely important as it allows the ship enough time to complete its “Shore Closing Procedures”. These are mandated by Transport Canada and must be completed within a minimum amount of time. Check in policies and refund policies are provided to customers before they book so they can plan their travels accordingly.

Over the years, the cost of providing service has been rising due to increased cost of fuel, maintenance, labour and capital cost of asset replacement. We appreciate that the current status of the economy has customers watching their finances very closely. Our financial decisions are not made to cause hardship to customers, but to ensure they have a safe, sustainable service for a long time to come.

Again, we are sorry to hear that we are not meeting your expectations, but we hope this information helps you understand a bit better some of the reasons behind our decisions.

We hope to see you onboard again soon.

Kind regards,

Justine
BC Ferries – Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“PERFECT SAIL.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent facilities, very well organized. We went with our car on board. Lovely trip to move around the ship. Food is very expensive on board. Carry water and some thing to much. The view is excellent and good for photos. The ride with a min van is expensive. Each direction it cost us 136 $ for 5 adults and 1 kid and 1 infant. Worth it. Very enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Care Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing your review! We are glad that our service and facilities met and hopefully exceeded your expectations. We regret to hear that you found our fares expensive, but pleased that you felt the cost reflected the worth of your experience.

Thank you for travelling with us, we look forward to welcoming you and your family onboard again soon!

Kind regards,

Justine
BC Ferries – Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BC Ferries also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to BC Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BC Ferries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.