We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Regalade - CLOSED

Cafe Regalade
2836 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6K 1R2, Canada (Kitsilano)
604-733-2213
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: macdonald street
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Total disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had dinner in Café Regalade on a Saturday evening. When called for reservation, we were advised the only availability is 5:30pm and the rest of the tables were booked. Trying to avoid disappointment, we took the 5:30pm seating. When we arrived, there was only one table with two patrons. The server must have a really day. He gave us a dirty look (no smile/greeting) when seating us and said the specials are on the wall board and the menu is on the table. He never made an effort to explain the daily specials and what were the house specialties. We enjoyed the pate from the original La Regalade in West Vancouver. When we asked the server, he said “we don’t do pate” and left the table. We asked for coffee but we had everything except the spoon. Some menu items were in French but the waiter didn’t bother to answer our questions.
The onion soup was flat. I could taste the OXO from the cup. The only taste we could identify in the ling cod was the onion and garlic. My question to the chef is very simple: How can you call your restaurant a French Bistro without knowing how to make a French onion and pate? Poor service and below par food, I would give my dinner experience 1 out of 5.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One note, played very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This little place has a very particular focus--rich French cafe food. And it does this style of food VERY well. Pork cheek pasta and braised short ribs are very good. The lamb (7-hour?) is outstanding. A couple of caveats: they aren't brilliant at fish. And don't go if you are in a hurry. Their kitchen is small, and their servers, while nice, seem at times a little disorganized. DO GO if you have some time, and are craving a nice meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service.....what service??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Although the food was good, the service was not. We were there on a Friday evening . The 2 ladies were run off their feet, taking orders, delivering orders, and also cleaning and setting up tables. There were really friendly and they really tried to do their best. Took us 15 minutes to be acknowledged after we were seated and 1.5 hours to get our meal. We had a good evening as we were not in a rush and the ambiance was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Food did not live up to reviews...no way!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had the Gigot of lamb and it was awful. It was extremely salty and loaded with pieces of fat. It was served in a large white bowl and looked like something you would eat on a backpacking trip. The starters were bland and tasteless. We were so disappointed after having read the reviews, we were expecting a least decent french food. $170 for three added more to the pain. If you are looking for a nice dinner...not brunch... this place is a pass.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch spot on a rainy Saturday afternoon~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

What a treat this place was...although we had to wait 5 minutes it was well worth it. There are few tables and the service was a little slow but the food.....I had the Charolais Breakfast with brased short ribs, eggs, salad, potatoes (pictured). The cafe atmosphere was bustling and cozy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Regalade also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Regalade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.