We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bar-b-que” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peckinpah

Peckinpah
2 Water Street, Vancouver, British Columbia BC V6B 1B2, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604 6815411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #805 of 2,847 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar-b-que”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The ribs were lovely, and the brisket quite good. We shared a platter of their various choices, and it was delicious (although a bit sparse in its quantity.) I'd recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chongqing, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good BBQ and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

BBQ sandwiches were good and ok beer selection. Good value and nice atmosphere. Nothing extremely special, but not outrageously expensive like the rest of Gastown.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Treat in a nice city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

At the end of a long trip through Canada's West we spent a couple of days in Vancouver. One restaurant in Gastown, the Peckinpah, became our favorite.
You have the choice to be seated outside (if the weather in Vancouver allows...) or inside. The location has a special charm of first nation, pioneer, wild west. The menu is not huge as they specialize in smoked BBQ, but our family tried almost all choices and nobody was disappointed! The portions are very large (at least for European standards). The service is fast and attentive, and certainly not boring. The range of beer mostly from local breweries completes the overall excellent impression.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I happened on this place in Gastown and were first attracted by the outside tables, and the BBQ was a great change of pace. Our pulled pork sandwiches were delicious... both the meat and the sauce ... service was friendly, and we enjoyed the location for relaxed people-watching. Peckinpah was a great find, and one of our favorite meals of the trip. Wish it was closer to Chicago. We'd be there weekly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I made our way to The Lamplighter but when we arrived and saw the very limited menu, we had another stroll and found the Peckinpah and decided to give it a go as it was something completely different (we found a lot of eateries offered a burger, a steak, pasta, pizza or fish dish, not a huge choice).

We chose the beef brisket with cornbread, lovely coleslaw and a wicked beef chilli and pulled pork with cornbread, green salad and fries. The waitresses were very pleasant and gave us advice about the sauces which really added to the flavour. Whilst we ate everything, we were both pleasantly full and would certainly say they were good sized portions. We sat inside by the window which gave us a great platform for people watching.

A truly unexpected find and one we would strongly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peckinpah also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Peckinpah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peckinpah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.