We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and amenities almost match decor!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Opus Hotel to your Saves list
Opus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   322 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wine!
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Campbell River, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service and amenities almost match decor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Yes, the colourful decor and style of the rooms may catch your eye, but the service from the staff and in-room amenities are tough to beat.
To take full advantage of the location, be sure to walk around Yaletown and enjoy the local businesses and dining options.
It may seem pricey, but try it once and you may find yourself looking for an excuse to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    218
    56
    18
    12
See reviews for
77
543
133
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I were in from Toronto to spend Christmas with my parents in White Rock (about 45 minutes south of Vancouver). Our wedding anniversary is December 28th and we planned to go out to a nice restaurant in Vancouver and spend the night.

We had reservations at the Blue Water Café in Yaletown for dinner. Ideally, we wanted a hotel reasonably close by, preferrably walking distance from the restaurant. I checked out Tripadvisor and discovered that Opus was only one block away and highly recommended. Turned out it that the Tripadvisor rating was spot on.

The Opus staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and welcoming. Fortified with complementary glasses of sparkling wine, we proceeded to our room. Opus hits all the right buttons: a quiet room, comfortable bed, quality linens and soaps, robes, etc. The location is ideal, directly across the streat from the Yaletown-Roundhouse Translink Station. Had we been flying into Vancouver and heading directly downtown, we could have hopped onto the Skytrain at the airport and arrived across the street from the hotel in 22 minutes. Far faster AND cheaper than taking a taxi!!! Furthermore, it's only a couple of blocks from the False Creek waterfront and its predestrian promenade, a lovely full service grocery store (Urban Fare) and a BC liquor outlet. Great for sourcing anniversary champagne and smoked salmon for the room!!!

I should mention that dinner at Blue Water Caféwas wonderful too (GREAT food, GREAT service, a lively buzz but not too noisy). Certainly not cheap but we really enjoyed our meals. You can book online via OpenTable.

Opus does a terrific job. We had a lovely 24 hours in Vancouver and we're looking forward to doing it again next year. We certainly be staying at Opus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPUSHotel, General Manager at Opus Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Reg8550,

Thank you for including OPUS for your very special occasion. It was fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed your OPUS experience, which we will share with the entire team! We are very fortunate to have so many amazing restaurants all with in a block of the hotel, like Blue Water Cafe, for our guests to choose from. Congratulations again on your wedding anniversary, and we will now look forward to welcoming you back for your next celebration!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Gandossi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here on New Years Eve , booked almost at the last minute and we were not disappointed. We parked the car outside the front door and within seconds a friendly valet directed us inside and offered to take our bags. We get to the front counter and tell her we were there to check in for the night, and before we could say another word, she upgrades us to the deluxe room for free. Friendliest staff I've dealt with at a hotel ever (i forget the valet and the front counter girls name, she was east indian and super nice). The hotel itself is ultra nice and trendy, with great decor.

Even though we didn't need it as we were locals, just staying for NYE, there was a free to use ipad and samsung galaxy phone in the room which is a nice little perk for visiting tourists.

Everything about this place was great, however there was one little itsy bitsy con.

The bar service wasn't the greatest, given that it was NYE I can attribute some of the lack of attention to that. The drinks we ordered took about 10-15 minutes to get to us (it wasn't that packed when we were there, approximately 2030 hrs) and my wifes drink tasted like. ummm...crap...sorry to say. All the drinks are ridiculously overpriced, but alas it is a trendy hotel in yaletown so it is to be expected.

At the end of the day I would HIGHLY reccomend this hotel to anyone, local or tourist, as it was one of the best hotels i've stayed at. Just bring your own booze :D.

H Gill

Room Tip: The deluxe "Billy" room is great :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great place for a hometown vacation, great location close to everything, super clean and old school customer service. People really seemed like they were wanting to ensure you spoke highly of them an wanted you back. Wow

Room Tip: Not sure about the pool and spa as we did not have time to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Opus Vancouver. The location was great- close to everything Vancouver has to offer. Service was amazing- we hired bikes only for one of the tyres to pop. They paid for our cab back (unprompted) and everything was hassle free. The front office staff made great recommendations for food. Comfy beds, great breakfast. Only negative was that there was a stag party staying on our last night there and when we called for room service at about 2am there was absolutely no food available- in my hungry, tipsy state this was really annoying but no major issue. The lead-in room size was a little small, so perhaps go for the next room category if you want more space. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lead in room category, which was a little on the small side, but comfy all the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Outstanding hotel in great location!
C train station is across the street.Lots of excellent restaurants within a 2 minute walk.
Very close to main Vancouver shopping district.
Almost on the Vancouver seawall with easy access to Stanley Park and Granville island.
Staff very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

In one word FANTASTIC. Everyone in this great hotel really wants you to enjoy your stay at the Opus hotel. All staff are friendly and will take the time to talk to you. We had a great experience here and would recommend.it. Close to Skytrain, excellent restuarants nearby and in the heart of Yaletown. Valet service was excellent. Cann't think on one negative comment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Address: 322 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2014. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2011 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2010 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.