We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Opus Hotel to your Saves list
Opus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   322 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Wine!
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

Despite the unavoidable construction around the hotel at this time, our stay was without problems or complaints. The service provided by the hotel staff is unrivalled. They accommodate all your requests with warmth and generosity. This hotel clearly realizes that service is still the most important factor, and it's refreshing to see such care and attention paid to guests' needs.

The room, while small, is comfortable with all conveniences. I never slept better than the nights I stayed here. The sheets and pillows are magic. The hallways were always very quiet--something that I am very sensitive to at other hotels--and I think the design / construction of the hotel must have taken sound-proofing into account, because I never heard other guests anywhere on the floor.

We found good rates online with Orbitz, but I was hesitant to book with this online service. Opus matched Orbitz's rate without any question.

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    232
    61
    18
    12
See reviews for
85
572
140
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

Stayed at the Opus Hotel for 4 nights recently. We got upgraded from a standard Queen room to a King room which was nice. The room was spacious, loved the decor, bed was comfortable, pillows could have been better. They change the sheets every day unless you place a card on the bed to notify that the sheets don't need to be changed. Bathroom was awesome, loved the shower and the L'Occitane toiletries. Complimentary water every day was great.

We were only on the second floor of the hotel and the construction of the Canada Line was right out front, however we didn't really notice the noise too much and didn't need the earplugs! However on our last night which was a Thursday night there was a DJ in the bar area downstairs and this did keep me awake until after 2am, so if you are staying over a weekend I would suggest a higher room in the hotel to avoid the loud base music thumping.

The service we received was fantastic. We utilised the complimentary hotel bicycles for a lovely morning cycle around the seawall and Stanley Park. I would recommend this. It was very easy to get from the hotel to the cycle path. The location of the hotel is great. Loved Yaletown and the boutique shops and so many restaurant choices all within a few minutes walk. We didn't pay for the internet in our room but just chose to use the internet in the Business Center which was free, if we needed to check anything online. Used the gym as well which was adequate for our needs. Fresh apples here as well, very nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would choose to stay here again.

  • Liked — Overall feel of the hotel
  • Disliked — Loud music from bar area (Thurs night)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

I went to stay one night at the Opus hotel while waiting for the rest of our travel party to arrive in the city. We were forewarned about the construction occurring beside the hotel for the Olympics, and had requested a room on the side of the hotel away from the noise. Not only did the hotel do a great job accommodating this request - they upgraded my Standard Room reservation to a Business Executive Suite at no extra charge!! Needless to say, my travel partner and I were ecstatic! We also highly enjoyed the secure elevators (which will only access floors using your keypass). Great safety measure in a metropolitan city.

Around 20 minutes after checking in to our suite an settling down, the wonderful Meaghan from the front desk was kind enough to provide us with a courtesy call to ensure that all our needs were met. 10 minutes afterwards, the friendliest staff member came to our door to deliver water, ice, earplugs, and offer turndown service. I have never met nicer people in the hospitality industry who genuinely seem to love their jobs. Well done!

The suite itself was high high high above expectations, in terms of finish, decor, and just general quality of furniture. Everything was squeaky clean and very orderly. The design element was consistent throughout, and impressed me (a frequent traveler) very much. The bathrooms were stunning and the stand-up shower was definitely my favourite part of the room (aside from the most comfortable bed in the world). A word of advice to those who are picky with pillows - the Opus has fairly high pillows which can be an issue if you are used to lower ones at home. But the beds themselves are awesome! The lobby itself was also very well decorated - the only issue is that the concierge desk is right next to the open bar concept. When there is a reception there (as there was when we arrived), it can be very loud and hard to check in and hear what the concierge is trying to say.

We checked out at noon the next day, and sorely missed the hotel and all its beautiful amenities for the rest of our trip. Thank you to the wonderful staff at the Opus for starting off our trip on a most positive note!

  • Liked — The beautiful decor and unsurpassed feel of luxury
  • Disliked — The loudness in the lobby area due to the bar, and the very dim elevators
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

Stayed here when we escaped from a B&B in town. Great hotel, new, upscale and modern. The rooms are small, we ended up going into a larger room due to this. The lounge is fun and the area is great. The have all amenities I like in a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Really liked the Opus, aside from all the construction that it seems to be situated right in the middle of.

Hotel is nice - rooms are very comfortable. Aside from the construction noise which starts around 6:30 AM, the only other downside for me was their early 90's Internet policy. $18 per day for Internet service in your room! If you are a boutique hotel specializing in service, Internet should be included in the cost of your room. It's 2008 people.

The lobby bar is great for music, drinks and atmosphere almost any night of the week. And hotel guests get access even if there is a line up outside. Locating right in the heart of Yaletown is ideal too - lots of bars, restaurants and shopping within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

Staying at the Opus is a great way to pamper yourself for the weekend. The rooms have a warm and romantic decor, and the location is perfect (great little neighbourhood to explore). The staff are very helpful and professional and the lounge downstairs is a great place to have a drink (the martinis are fantastic). My husband and I visit the Opus every year for a romantic getaway, and we have yet to be anything but thoroughly impressed with absolutely everything about this hotel.

  • Liked — The decor and the lounge downstairs.
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

We chose the Opus for a long weekend vacation because we prefer a modern decor and found the tripadvisor reviews encouraging.

Overall we found the experience to be OK.

Pros:
Modern room design
Pretty bathroom
Turndown service with water and chocolates
Yaletown location-- shops, restaurants, grocery nearby
Mostly prompt pleasant service
Comfortable bed and bedding
Free internet access in business center

Cons:
Worn and stained carpet, bedding, and furniture
Overly elaborate and intrusive mini-bar and other overpriced items scattered about-- with the 1st night's turndown service I carefully examined the water and chocolates to verify there were no "open this and we charge you $" stickers.
A glass wall separates the bathroom, toilet and all, from the bedroom. There is a curtain you can pull but privacy and noise contol remain an issue.
Vibe is painfully, self-consciously hip, especially in the Elixir bar.
Yaletown is small, so once you've seen what there is, it's a long walk to other areas
In-room internet access is $15/day, parking $25/day

So while Opus succeeds on many important points, it would be even better if worn elements were replaced and the iitems for sale in the room were eliminated or reduced. It's hard to relax when you're surrounded by sales tactics.

  • Liked — modern decor, floor-to-ceiling windows
  • Disliked — items for sale in the room, overwrought hipness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Opus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opus Hotel

Address: 322 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only Four-Star Boutique Hotel as rated by Forbes Travel Guide 2015. Uniquely stylish and always fresh, OPUS Hotel Vancouver redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in fashionable Yaletown, OPUS Vancouver Hotel is steps from the inner harbor, Canada Line rapid transit, outdoor recreation and Vancouver's best restaurants, spas and shops. * 2011 Conde Nast Traveler / Gold List Reserve* 2010 Conde Nast Traveler / Readers Choice Awards * 2010 Travel + Leisure / 500 Worlds Best Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Opus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.