We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds live up to the hotels name” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   654 Nelson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #56 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
Langley BC Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beds live up to the hotels name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night here while at a concert at the nearby Orpheum. We were very happy with the hotel. The location is great, so many great pubs/restaurants/clubs/shops within easy walking distance. The bed was extremely comfortable, we slept like babies. I loved the giant tub. My only complaints would be that the hotel wasn't fully booked, yet they stuck us on the first floor corner, by lots of construction that woke us up very early. Also, the entrance is awkward. You go up steps (we only had overnight bags so it was no big deal to us, however those with more or the elderly may have had a problem). Once you are on the first step the door automatically opens out towards you, and could force you to step back onto the sidewalk, especially if you had lots of luggage. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    205
    97
    23
    12
See reviews for
70
154
51
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Be prepared to walk up several stairs carrying luggage to the lobby. Be prepared to meet the NICEST group of desk clerks you would ever want to meet. They were polite, helped with luggage and were very helpful during our entire stay, and always with a smile. Be prepared for small elevator, that does not run very fast. Be prepared for good bed, but small room. Our room faced the building behind the hotel we had one window and we could almost touch the other building. Our friends room faced the front of the hotel, but they caught a lot of the street noise. The breakfast served at the pub next door was very good, if they had what you wanted to eat.

Room Tip: If all you are going to do is sleep I am sure any of the rooms are ok, but stay on higher floors awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Clean standard rooms in a very central location. For the weekend I booked for this hotel offered the best prices out of the large chain hotels in downtown Vancouver. Had a whirlpool tub in our room but didn't use it - the jets could use a good bleach cleaning. We arrived on a Friday night and didn't realize that the municipality closes off sections of the surrounding roads for pedestrian night-life on the weekends. The Comfort Inn is right in the middle of this area, so getting to their adjacent Impark parking lot with our vehicle was a bit tricky (had to access it via the alley off of Helmcken St)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We chosed this location because it is close to where we have to getr to join our Rocky Mountain tour. It is also convenient to get on the hop on hopfff tour bus. Eating places also within walking distance. The beds are very comfortable, must have been recently replaced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

As with most downtown Vancouver properties, this facility is difficult to access. There are numerous and varied types of restaurants, pubs and clubs within easy walking distance.
Our internet reservation and group discount worked as intended.
The decor of the common areas and rooms are appealing and are well maintained. The rooms are a moderate size but sufficient for our luggage and sundry items. There is noise transmission from the adjacent rooms when the neighbours are boisterous. This property is clean. The room temperature and fan speed is individually controlled and provides ample cooling; however, the temperature fluctuation is noticeable to the point of being uncomfortable. The pillow topped mattress bed is wonderfully comfortable and fitted with a duvet. The linens are of enhanced quality. Internet service is provided at no cost and functions well.
Breakfast includes hot (eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, pancakes, tea and coffee) and cold (cereal, pears, apples, yogurt, toast, preserves, apple and orange juice). The food is tasty. The staff does an excellent job of keeping the items hot and cold as well as amply stocked.
Only ground level parking is available on the adjacent lot.
At our group rate, this inn is a bargain. A special offer ($10.00) for breakfast per room is good value. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms above the onsite pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here before and after a cruise. Both times we were on top floor of 5. One room had an awkward layout. The other was fine. There was some street noise that we learned from previous reviews, but it did not disturb us. What did disturb us was there is a bar that is on next door and in the basement of the hotel. There are exit only doors that constantly bang shut at night and noticeable to us after 11pm and til about 3 am. We kept our tv on to drown out the noise.

The staff was helpful with area and we loved the area of Yaletown. We ate in various restaurants there- all excellent.

We had to wait a long time to get in our rooms after the cruise which was difficult for us as it happened to rain that day and it was not as easy to get out and do the tourist thing. We were able to borrow umbrellas from the hotel which was helpful.


There are no amenities other than toiletry items and no vending machines that we saw, but there are several stores that are close. Elevator is slow and entrance to hotel has awkward stairs, but staff helped 2/3 of out party with their bags.

Vancouver is an expensive city, and downtown for us was what we wanted as it was our first time and we wanted to be central. However public transportation would have been easy to deal with as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. Our stairs from the street to the Lobby can be difficult for some of our guests to bring their luggage up themselves. Our Guest Services Team is always willing to help bring guest’s luggage up the stairs and we have a Bell Person available most days for check in and check out.

I apologize there was so much noise from the Pub doors. Unfortunately even on the 5th floor with your window open you are still able to hear some noise from the street. If you would like to give us another chance we would be happy to try and give you a room on the back side of the hotel.


Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a couple of occasions. Rooms are very comfortable and if you are lucky enough, you get a room facing onto Granville or Nelson. Some rooms are facing onto the lane and neighboring hostel.

Book well in advance or sacrifice paying peak prices.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Comfort Inn Downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 654 Nelson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downtown is an 82 room boutique-style hotel built in 1908 and situated in the heart of Vancouver's Entertainment district. This 100% smoke free and eco friendly heritage building blends the contemporary designs and the standard Comfort Inn warmth seamlessly amongst the vibrant colors and decor. There is a diverse selection of restaurants and lounges surrounding the hotel within this enlivened neighborhood. As an added benefit our guests receive complimentary VIP access to the on-site Doolin's Irish Pub, The Cellar Night Club and The Roxy Cabaret. Only minutes from countless city attractions such as: BC Place Stadium, Granville Island, the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, the University of British Columbia, Grouse Mountain Stanley Park and Vancouver International Airport. The hotel’s central location is the perfect place whether you are spending a night or visiting for a week. A stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown includes the following added benefits:- Complimentary newspapers- Complimentary day passes to Steve Nash Fitness Club- VIP access (advance line/no cover before 10pm) to The Cellar and The Roxy Cabaret A cut above, the Comfort Inn Downtown is currently undergoing full scale property renovations. Scheduled for completion with its revitalized exterior and stylish makeover of the guestrooms, lobby and meeting space March of 2012; the 82 guestrooms convey a charm with a modern décor combined with the utmost in personalized service. Sophisticated and trendy, your experience at the Comfort Inn Downtown will leave you with a feeling of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.